Boating Safety Certification WHO NEEDS TO BE CERTIFIED: You were born after January 1, 1986 You will be operating a Personal Watercraft (Jet Ski), regardless of age and regardless of residency If you are an Out-of-State Resident and operating a vessel (other than a Personal Watercraft-see above), you must meet the requirements of your home state in order to operate in Rhode Island Waters. For questions, contact DEM/Environmental Police 401-222-3070. Mandatory Boating Safety Education Information About the Law HOW TO GET CERTIFIED There are two methods for certification: You can take a classroom course offered by our state-approved course providers. You can take an online course (links below). There are two approved online state approved courses, both of which required the student to pass an in-person proctored exam when completed. You can study online using our state-approved online course, which will then require you to pass a proctored exam. ONLINE COURSES: https://www.boat-ed.com/rhodeisland/ https://www.ilearntoboat.com/rhodeisland/ CLASSROOM COURSES: Please see links below to our state-approved classroom course providers. All courses must be a minimum of 8 hours and state and NASBLA approved. USCG Auxiliary - RI IN-COMMAND training for boating education and training USCG Auxiliary - RI/MA/ME/NH USCG Auxiliary 2020 Classroom Course Schedule U.S. Sailing-Basic Powerboat Safety Courses Boatwise, LLC US Power Squadron RI Boating Courses with Freedom Boat Club ONLINE STUDY COURSE To receive certification via our online study course, you must complete the state-approved course by Boat-Ed. Once you have completed the course, you must pass a proctored exam. Information on this exam is provided below. Boaters can also request a home study course booklet by contacting DEM/Environmental Police at 401-222-3070. On-Line Boating Safety Study Course Learn more about the Required Proctored (Challenge) Exam Interactive RI Boater Safety Course Official RI Boating Safety Course Online Boating Exams HOW TO GET REPLACEMENT BOATING CARD Boating card replacement request Boating Accident Form A boating accident report must be filled out by the owner/operator of any vessel that meets the following criteria: Loss of life or disappearance from a vessel. Injury to any person that requires medical treatment beyond ordinary first aid. Property damage in excess of $2,000. Complete loss of a vessel. RI Boating Accident Report Form Boating Safety & General Information Requirements and Standards for Vessels and Associated Equipment (250-RICR-80-00-1) RI Handbook of Boating Laws & Responsibilities Online Paddlesport Safety Course USCG: Engine Cutoff Switch Law Explore RI (Boat Access and Hiking Trails) Discovering the Rhode Island Shoreline Marine pumpout information Marine pumpout facility locations map List of State Boat Ramps Rhode Island Tide Charts Free NOAA Nautical Charts Preventing Boat Engine Pollution Stop Invasive Species Boat Ramp Sign GREAT Boaters Program Safe Harbor Policy Cold Water Survival Video Boating Safety Coloring Book for Kids Boating Related Boards & Commissions RI Pilotage Commission RI Derelict and Abandoned Vessel and Obstruction Removal Commission US Coast Guard's Boating Safety Website National Safe Boating Council National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) Boating Instructor Resources Boat RI Course on Responsible Boating View as PDF RI Specific Boating Statutes & Regulations View as PDF Boating Under the Influence Video Cold Water Survivors Video Boating Safety Videos DLE Resources Policies Division of Law Enforcement Internal Complaint Investigations Division of Law Enforcement Use of Force Policy Applications / Forms Records Request Form RI Derelict & Abandoned Vessel and Obstruction Removal Boating Accident Report Form Boating Safety Card Replacement Request RI Environmental Police Officer's Association Scholarship Application in Word or PDF Protected Marine Animals Need Your Help!