
 
 

RHODE ISLAND 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 
 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908-5767 Rhode Island Relay 711 
Office of Boat Registration &Licensing 3rd Floor – Room 360 (401) 222-6647 
  

2022 RESIDENT MARINE LICENSE APPLICATION 
Applicant ID:_____________________Office Use only 
Applicant Mailing Address  Residence Address (Cannot be a PO Box) 
Name:____________________________   
Street:____________________________  Street:____________________________ 
City:________________RI 02_____  City:___________________RI 02______ 
DOB:_________________________   
Height:_______________Weight:________  Fisheries Lic# ________________________ 
Hair Color:____________ Eye Color:______   
RI Drivers License #:__________________  Occupation:__________________________        

Has your commercial fishing license and/or permit been revoked or suspended in any state or jurisdiction? 
        Yes        No (Check One)  

*** (APPLICATION MUST BE RECEIVED NO LATER THAN 02/28/2022) *** 
Renewal Grace Period with $200.00 Late Fee March 1, 2022 – April 29, 2022– Does Not Apply to New 

License Applications – Renewal Licenses Only – It is unlawful to fish or sell fishery products without a 
current 2022 license 

Reporting Method - 
Mandatory 

 
Check Method  Available Licenses 

Logbook -   
Endorsement $25.00 Commercial Fishing License $50.00 

 VTR  Endorsements 
 Electronic  Please check  Description Additional 

Fee each 

     

Quahog (Renewal Only)  
Shellfish Other 
Soft Shell Clam (Renewal    
Only)  
Whelk – Conch (Renewal 
Only) 

$25.00 
$25.00 
$25.00 
  
$25.00 

     Non-Lobster Crustacean    
$25.00 

    Lobster (Renewal Only)  $25.00 
                                Non-Restricted Finfish      

                                                                                         
$25.00 
  

www.dem.ri.gov                                       Dockside  
                 (Lob/Non Lobster Endorsed Applicants Only)    $25.00 

Checks Payable-
RI DEM  

 Purse Seine 
              Mid Water/Pair Trawl 

                              Logbook    

$20.00 
$20.00 
$25.00 

  SFO65 - 65 and Over Shellfish License  
(Quahog Only)  $ 0.00 

All holders of SFO65 & CFL licenses with quahog, softshell clam and/or shellfish other endorsements must 
complete, prior to license issuance, the 30 minute on line shellfish harvester tutorial located at 
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/  and must submit Certificate of Completion with this application (new 
applicants only). 
RIGL §20-1-3(10) “Resident” means an individual who has had his or her actual place of residence and has lived in the 
state of Rhode Island for a continuous period of not less than six (6) months.  

Under penalty of perjury I declare I am a Rhode Island resident and the information contained herein is true and 
accurate: 

Signature: ______________________________ Date: __________ Telephone # __________________ 
Notary Public ___________________________ Comm. Exp. ____________________  
  
Note: Licensed fishers are obligated to comply with possession limits for finfish as provided in the Marine Fisheries 
listserve, dedicated phone line at (401) 423-1920, or webpage at www.dem.ri.gov/programs/fish-wildlife/marine-
fisheries/mfsizes.php. Licensed shellfishers are obligated to comply with conditional closure areas as provided on 
DEM’s dedicated phone line at (401) 222-2900. 
  

http://www.dem.ri.gov/
http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/bpoladm/manserv/hfb/boating/pdfs/2022ShellfishHarvestTutorial.pdf


   
 
 



DEM Launched New 

RI Shellfish Harvester Education & Certification Program 
January 2022 

 

Dear Applicant: 

DEM launched a new education and certification program in 2018 that is mandatory for everyone who 
commercially harvests and lands shellfish in RI. The goal of the program is to ensure that shellfish 
harvesters deliver a safe product to shellfish dealers and, in turn, to shellfish consumers. This course 
must be completed prior to the issuance of a new license/endorsement. 

In accordance with US FDA requirements, and new regulations adopted by DEM in 2018, holders of all 
applicable commercial licenses and landing permits must obtain certification via the new program. 
Applicants must submit Certificate of Completion prior to license issuance (new applicants only).  

The certification requirement applies to: 

• All holders of commercial shellfish licenses -- i.e., Principal Efforts Licenses and Commercial 
Fishing Licenses with quahog, soft-shell clam, and/or shellfish other endorsements; Over 65 
Shellfish Licenses, and Student Shellfish Licenses; 

• All holders of Multipurpose Licenses who harvest shellfish; and 
• All holders of landing permits who land shellfish. 

The certification requirement applies to both license/permit renewals and new licenses/permits, 
beginning in 2018.  All certificates are valid for 5 years, after which re-certification will be required. 

To obtain certification: 

Complete a 30-minute online tutorial, which is available here: 
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/ 

To learn more about the program, including detailed information on all regulatory requirements and 
exceptions pertaining to the program, visit www.dem.ri.gov/harvester. 

For further information on any aspect of the new certification program, contact Robert Ballou in the 
DEM Director’s Office at Robert.Ballou@dem.ri.gov, 401-222-4700, ext. 2774420 

 

 

https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/
http://www.dem.ri.gov/harvester
mailto:Robert.Ballou@dem.ri.gov
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