

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711 2020-2021 REGULATED MEDICAL WASTE TRANSPORTER PERMIT APPLICATION

READ THE ENTIRE APPLICATION CAREFULLY!!

Dear Medical Waste Transporter:

Enclosed is your application to apply for/renew a permit to transport **MEDICAL WASTE** through and within the state of Rhode Island for the permit period ending June 30, 2021.

RI Dept of Environmental Management Office of Management Services 235 Promenade Street Providence, RI 02908

Please complete and return these forms and check to the above address. <u>Do not submit the application and attachments in a binder.</u> Allow three (3) to five (5) weeks for processing. If there are deficiencies in the application, the Department will contact you via phone call or email. You will receive your permit and vinyl decals for your vehicle/s when the application is approved and should contact this office if you do not hear from us by the end of the 5 weeks processing period.

Renewal applications for the new fiscal year are due May 1, 2020.

NEW MEDICAL WASTE REGULATIONS

The Department promulgated New Medical Waste Regulations effective 10/10/10. The fee structure for permitting vehicles has changed such that you are no longer required to permit both the tractor and trailer of a vehicle separately.

Now, only the powered unit of the vehicle requires a fee with an associated cost of \$125/vehicle. For the complete Medical Waste Regulations see https://rules.sos.ri.gov/organizations/subchapter/250-140-15.

TRAINING REQUIREMENTS

Also in the amended Regulations from 2010 is a requirement that all personal authorized to transport or otherwise handle Regulated Medical Waste must be trained and certified in the hazards of blood borne pathogens. This list must be amended when new individuals are hired. Certificates of training for blood borne pathogens for each driver should be included with this application.

INSPECTIONS

The Department has implemented a <u>COMPANY-CERTIFIED</u> inspection program, thus eliminating the need for RIDEM staff inspections. Each company is required to list designated company inspectors who will perform inspections and attest to the accuracy of each inspection. A checklist for a unit inspection is attached. Please make copies of this form and submit one checklist for each powered unit you wish to permit. Each checklist submitted to this office must contain the signature of a designated inspector and these forms will be used as legal documents in the event of an enforcement action against the company. The Department will continue to perform random, unannounced vehicle inspections. Companies must maintain strict compliance with the requirements at all times. Units found to be deficient upon inspection are subject to administrative penalties.

Upon approval of a company's application, decals will be issued for the specific units for which a checklist and a \$125 per powered unit fee have been submitted. These decals are NOT TRANSFERRABLE and are to be placed on the driver's side of the permitted powered unit.

SPILL MANAGEMENT PLANS

All medical transporters are required to submit an emergency spill management plan in accordance with Rule 14.7 of the regulations. This spill management plan must be updated when any changes occur or every five years. This contingency plan must be on each vehicle at all times.

FEES

A fee of \$125.00 (made payable to the General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island) must be submitted to the Office of Waste Management, per the attached remittal form, at the time the application is submitted. This will be credited to the cost of the first unit. You must submit \$125 for each additional powered unit to be permitted. No decals will be issued until payment is received.

(Note: If the units are separate, the cost to permit one tractor (or powered unit) is \$125. Trailers are no longer required to be permitted as separate units.) All additional fees and inspection checklists must be accompanied by the Check Remittal Form and submitted to the Office of Waste Management.

To improve the efficiency of the permitting process for both the Department and the regulated community, the Department does not require the submission of individual checklists for each vehicle for electronic filers. To be eligible to file electronically, the company must submit a *Medical Waste Transporter Electronic Submittal Form*, along with their application **and** accompanying data in the Department's spreadsheet format **only**. The data may be sent on floppy disk or by e-mail. Contact the Office of Waste Management (alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov) if you wish to file electronically.

SEMI-ANNUAL REPORTS

As specified in section 14.13 of the *Regulations*, medical waste transporters are required to file a report semi-annually with the Department. Report specifications can be found in Appendix III of the regulations. Please contact Alyson Brunelli for an electronic copy of the Department required format of these reports.

THIS APPLICATION MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY THE FOLLOWING:

An application fee of one hundred and twenty five dollars (\$125) must be submitted to the Office of Waste Management accompanied by the enclosed remittal form. The check must be made payable to the General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island. This application fee will be credited to one unit listed on the application. An additional one hundred and twenty five dollars (\$125) per powered unit will be required for each additional unit. All fees must be accompanied by the remittal form and **paid before** a decal is issued.

An original (not photocopy or carbon copy) certificate of liability insurance issued in the name of the Office of Waste Management, Department of Environmental Management in the amount of at least one million dollars (\$1,000,000.00).

The company must submit for review and approval, a description of the procedures to be employed by the transporter, pursuant to Rule 14.7 of the Regulations, in response to spills or other emergency situations that could arise during transporting operations. Specific reference must be made to:

- 1) Type and location of emergency equipment on vehicles.
- 2) The driver's emergency response instructions including:
 - i) Instructions to immediately notify the RIDEM at (401) 222-2797 (daytime) or (401) 222-2284 (24-hour).
 - ii) The name and phone # of an emergency spill clean-up company.
 - iii) Procedures for spill containment.
 - iv) Reference to the Medical Waste Spill Report to be filed with the Director within 48 hours of a spill pursuant to Rule 14.7e of the Medical Waste Regulations.

All correspondences should be addressed to Alyson Brunelli at (401) 222-2797 (ext. 7134) e-mail alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov.



Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

| PE | RMIT # RI (If renewal) | | |
|-----|--|------------------|--|
| 1. | COMPANY NAME: | | |
| 2. | MAILING ADDRESS: | | |
| 3. | CITY:STATE: | ZIP: | |
| 4. | PHONE: | | |
| 5. | LOCATION: | | |
| 6. | CITY: STATE | Zip: | |
| 7. | COMPANY OWNER: | | |
| 8. | COMPANY EMERGENCY CONTACT: _ | | |
| 9. | PHONE: | | |
| 10. | FAX: | | |
| 11. | COMPANY REGULATORY CONTACT: | | |
| 12. | PHONE: | | |
| 13. | FAX: | | |
| 14. | EMAIL: | _ | |
| 15. | INSURANCE COMPANY:: | | |
| 16. | POLICY# | EXPIRATION DATE: | |
| 17. | IS THE APPLICATION ONLY FOR THE WASTE YOU GENERATE[True/False]? [our web site] | | |

| | E III E E III O III | S N | U |
|--|---------------------------|--------------------|------------------------------|
| If yes, have you made cha | anges to: | | |
| Designated Mani | | Yes | No |
| Contingency Plan | n? | Yes | No |
| Training Plan? | | Yes | _ No |
| Business Concer | n Disclosure Statement? | Yes | No |
| If yes to any above, you | ı must submit the updated | information wi | th this application. |
| 19. STORAGE OF PER than the address in iter | | (complete if s | torage location is different |
| MAILING ADDRESS | S (if different) : | | |
| CITY | STATE | ZIP | |
| (If applicable): | | | |
| MAILING ADDRESS | S | | |
| | SSTA | | |
| CITY: | | ГЕ | |
| CITY: PHONE () | STA | ΓE | |
| CITY: | STA | FE ompany for M | ZIP |
| CITY: | STA | FE ompany for M | ZIP |
| CITY: | STA | FE ompany for M | ZIP |
| PHONE () 21. List all Destination F Rhode Island: | STA | FE ompany for M | ZIP |
| CITY: | STA | FE ompany for M | ZIP |
| PHONE () 21. List all Destination F Rhode Island: | STA | FE ompany for M | ZIP |
| CITY: | STA | FE ompany for M | ZIP |

| 22. The following personnel are authorized | d by to |
|--|----------------|
| 22. The following personnel are authorized sign the Medical waste Tracking Form: | (Company Name) |
| | , |
| Name (Print or Type) | Signature* |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |

^{*} Designated employees must sign this form to signify their acceptance of this responsibility.



Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

REMITTAL FORM FOR MEDICAL WASTE TRANSPORTERS *** ALL APPLICANTS PLEASE NOTE PROCEDURE * * * *

The permit application form, fee and all accompanying documents must be submitted to:

RI Department of Environmental Management Office of Waste Management 235 Promenade Street Providence, RI 02908-5767

This completed form must be provided to coordinate your fee with the application submitted.

| | Applic | cant's Name: | | _ |
|-------|---------|---|-------------------------------|---------------------------------|
| | Permit | t #: | | _ |
| | Mailin | ng Address: | | _ |
| | CITY: | : | STATE: | ZIP: |
| | PHON | NE: | | |
| | Contac | ct Person: | | |
| | | inspections x \$125 per inspecti | on = \$ | (total amount submitted) |
| | | | | |
| FEE P | PAID FO | OR FISCAL YEAR 7/1/20 TO | 0 6/30/20 | |
| ГҮРЕ | OF PER | RMIT APPLICATION: | | |
| | | NEW | | |
| | | RENEWAL - PERMIT NO. RI | | |
| | | PREPAID PERMIT (For those vavailable vehicle information) | vishing to pay for the | permit in advance of having |
| | | Initia will be self-inspected and contain application before being put on the You must send an email to alyson. | all the required safety road. | |
| | | permit becomes active. | CI MICHINE CO V | to inform the Department when t |



Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

Medical Waste Transporter Inspection Form (Electronic Version)

THIS FORM TO BE FILLED OUT FOR VEHICLES ON THE ACCOMPANYING EXCEL SPREADSHEET (1 CHECKLIST FOR THE ENTIRE GROUP)

| APPLICANT: | RI Permit # RIMWTRANS | : Date: |
|---|--------------------------------|---|
| Fee Submitted: Amount: | Check #: | |
| # of Powered Units inspected according to the | nis checklist: | |
| Vehicle Requirements 1.14 Cargo Body: | | Spill Kit Required Absorbent Material |
| Fully Enclosed / Leak resistant (unen | aclosed trucks | |
| cannot be used as medical waste trans | sporters) | |
| | | One gallon Disinfectant Sprayer |
| Good and Sanitary Condition | | Appropriate Labels |
| Secure when unattended | | Two (2) sets moisture resistant overalls, gloves, boots caps and tape. |
| Identification (name & number) in let both sides and back of cargo body | ters > 3" on | Eye protection |
| | | Respiratory protection |
| Required Biohazard / Medical Waste | signage | Scoop, shovel, broom, bucket |
| Management of Spills 1.14.G | | First Aid Kit |
| Management Plan on Vehicle meeting of Rule 14.08 | g Requirements | Fire Extinguisher |
| | | Lights, flares & other appropriate safety equipment |
| | | Communication Device |
| In Accordance with Rhode Island General L | aw §23-19.1-18(h): | |
| | it, or other document filed, m | Palse, statement, representation, or certification, aintained and used for the purpose of program |
| Signature of Designated Company Inspector | Name (printed) | |



RIDEM/OFFICE OF WASTE MANAGEMENT 235 PROMENADE STREET

PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND 02908-5767 **(401) 222-2797**

Medical Waste Transporter Inspection Form

NO EXCEL SPREAD SHEET

THIS CHECKLIST TO BE USED FOR EACH UNIT 1 CHECKLIST PER POWERED UNIT

| APPLICANT: | RI Permit # RIMWTRAN | NS: Date: | |
|---|----------------------|--|--|
| Fee Submitted: Amount: | Check #: | | |
| Vehicle Type: Box Other Capac | rity Reg. #: | State: | |
| Year/ Make:/ | Last 5 digit | s of V.I.N.: | |
| Vehicle Requirements 1.14 Cargo Body: | Sp — | oill Kit Required Absorbent Material | |
| Fully Enclosed / Leak resistant (unenclosed | trucks | | |
| cannot be used as medical waste transpo | orters) | | |
| | | One gallon Disinfectant Sprayer | |
| Good and Sanitary Condition | | Appropriate Labels | |
| Secure when unattended | _ | Two (2) sets moisture resistant overalls, gloves, boots caps and tape. | |
| Identification (name & number) in letters > 3 | " on | Eye protection | |
| both sides and back of cargo body | | Respiratory protection | |
| Required Biohazard / Medical Waste signage | e | Scoop, shovel, broom, bucket | |
| Management of Spills 1.14.G | _ | First Aid Kit | |
| Management Plan on Vehicle meeting Regs of | of Rule 14.7 | Fire Extinguisher | |
| Communication Device (cell phone) | _ | Lights, flares & other safety equipment | |
| In Accordance with Rhode Island General Law §23- | -19.1-18(h): | | |
| I hereby certify that I am aware that any person who application, record, report, plan, permit, or other doc this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a felony. | | | |
| Signature of Designated Company Inspector | Name (printed) | | |



TITLE

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management 235 Promenade St., Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD 401.711

Medical Waste Transporter Permit Application for 2020-2021

Acknowledgement of Regulations and Accuracy of Permit Application Company Name______ Permit Number_____ I ______, AM FAMILIAR WITH THE (Print name) MEDICAL WASTE TRANSPORTER PERMIT RULES AND REGULATIONS AND **CERTIFY THAT ALL** ENTRIES ON THIS APPLICATION ARE TRUE AND CORRECT. SIGNATURE DATE