RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908-5767

Rhode Island Relay 711

Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 3rd Floor, Room 360 (401) 222-6647 **2024 New License Opportunities, Resident Marine License Application**

CID #:	Office Use only			
Applicant Mailing A	<u>ddress</u>	Residence Ad	dress (Cannot be a PO Box)	
Name:				
Street:	DI 00	Street:	RI 02	
City: DOB:		City:	RI 02	
Height:	Weight:	E Mail Address	s:	
Hair Color:	Eye Color:			
RI Driver's License #/Expiration Date:		Occupation:		
Has your commercial fishi ☐ Yes ☐ No	ng license and/or permit been revo	oked or suspended in any	state or jurisdiction?	
Are you an active membe	r of the military? 🔲 Yes 🔲 N	0		
	harged veteran? 🗌 Yes 🔠 No			
Do you hold a valid certific	cate from an accredited commercia	al apprenticeship approve	d by the Dept? ☐ Yes ☐ No	
*** (APF	PLICATION MUST BE RECEIV	ED NO LATER THAN	02/29/2024) ***	
		2024 Availabl	e Licenses/Endorsements	
Reporting Method Required	Check Below		Fishing License-	\$
Logbook \$25.00			Endorsements (Additional Fees)	
VTR \$0.00		Check one or both	5	Additional
Ψ0.00		below	Description	Fee
Electronic \$0.00		below	Unlimited Shellfish (48)	Fee \$
		below	Unlimited Shellfish (48) Unlimited Finfish (18)	
Electronic \$0.00			Unlimited Shellfish (48) Unlimited Finfish (18) Buoy Colors:	\$
Electronic \$0.00 A total of Forty-Eight (48 Standard Fishing License the available endorseme only for the new license applicant. Please DO NO Fishing License with one Endorsements is \$375.0 Commercial & Recreatio Please read all guidant documentation. Notes: You must comple license. All vesse RIGL §20-1-3(10) "Reside the state of Rhode Island") new Unlimited Shellfish (resident e will be issued in 2024. Applicationts will be made after the application opportunity issuance. The license/oT submit a check with this licer. Unlimited Endorsement is \$300.0 or you must submit justification as nal Saltwater Fishing Licensing Recedocument materials prior to set requirements of Taxation Certificals engaged in the RI commercial ent" means an individual who has held for a continuous period of not less declare I am a Rhode Island resident.	conly) & Eighteen (18) Ur n period runs 01/01/2024 on deadline date of 02/29 endorsement fees will be nse application. The fee 0, the fee for the Standar to your eligibility for the e egulations. Prior paperwo ubmission of this appli- cation & submit along wit fisheries must be declare and his or her actual place than six (6) months.	Unlimited Shellfish (48) Unlimited Finfish (18) Buoy Colors: Illimited Finfish Endorsements on through 02/29/2024. All determing of the Standard of the Standard Fishing License with two Unlimited Standard Fishing License With License	\$ \$ the nations on oplication sful dard ited th in the
Electronic \$0.00 A total of Forty-Eight (48 Standard Fishing License the available endorseme only for the new license applicant. Please DO NO Fishing License with one Endorsements is \$375.0 Commercial & Recreatio Please read all guidance documentation. Notes: You must comple license. All vesse RIGL §20-1-3(10) "Reside the state of Rhode Island Under penalty of perjury, I accurate.	e will be issued in 2024. Application on the will be made after the application opportunity issuance. The licensels opportunity issuance. The licensels of the Unlimited Endorsement is \$300.0 or you must submit justification as nal Saltwater Fishing Licensing Rece document materials prior to set the requirements of Taxation Certification engaged in the RI commercial into the commercial into the commercial into the commercial into the continuous period of not less declare I am a Rhode Island residents.	conly) & Eighteen (18) Ur in period runs 01/01/2024 on deadline date of 02/29 endorsement fees will be nse application. The fee 0, the fee for the Standar to your eligibility for the e egulations. Prior paperwo ubmission of this appli- cation & submit along wit fisheries must be declare and his or her actual place than six (6) months.	Unlimited Shellfish (48) Unlimited Finfish (18) Buoy Colors: Illimited Finfish Endorsements on through 02/29/2024. All determing of the Standard Fishing License are charged only if you are a success (if awarded license) for the Standard Fishing License with two Unlimited Fishing License Fishing	\$ \$ the nations on oplication sful dard ited th in the
Electronic \$0.00 A total of Forty-Eight (48 Standard Fishing License the available endorseme only for the new license applicant. Please DO NO Fishing License with one Endorsements is \$375.0 Commercial & Recreatio Please read all guidant documentation. Notes: You must comple license. All vesse RIGL §20-1-3(10) "Reside the state of Rhode Island Under penalty of perjury, I accurate. Signature:	e will be issued in 2024. Application on the will be made after the application of the properturity issuance. The licensels of the Unlimited Endorsement is \$300.0 or you must submit justification as nal Saltwater Fishing Licensing Rece document materials prior to set the requirements of Taxation Certification and the RI commercial in the RI co	conly) & Eighteen (18) Ur in period runs 01/01/2024 on deadline date of 02/29 endorsement fees will be nse application. The fee 0, the fee for the Standar to your eligibility for the e egulations. Prior paperwo ubmission of this appli- cation & submit along wit fisheries must be declare and his or her actual place than six (6) months.	Unlimited Shellfish (48) Unlimited Finfish (18) Buoy Colors: Illimited Finfish Endorsements on through 02/29/2024. All determing of the Standard Fishing License are charged only if you are a success (if awarded license) for the Standard Fishing License with two Unlimited Fishing License Fishing	\$ \$ the nations on oplication sful dard ited th in the
Electronic \$0.00 A total of Forty-Eight (48 Standard Fishing License the available endorseme only for the new license applicant. Please DO NO Fishing License with one Endorsements is \$375.0 Commercial & Recreatio Please read all guidance documentation. Notes: You must comple license. All vesse RIGL §20-1-3(10) "Reside the state of Rhode Island Under penalty of perjury, I accurate.	e will be issued in 2024. Application onts will be made after the application opportunity issuance. The license/off submit a check with this licensel Unlimited Endorsement is \$300.00. You must submit justification as nal Saltwater Fishing Licensing Recedocument materials prior to set requirements of Taxation Certificals engaged in the RI commercial into means an individual who has held for a continuous period of not less declare I am a Rhode Island residents.	conly) & Eighteen (18) Ur n period runs 01/01/2024 on deadline date of 02/29 endorsement fees will be nse application. The fee 0, the fee for the Standar to your eligibility for the egulations. Prior paperwo ubmission of this application & submit along wit fisheries must be declare ad his or her actual place than six (6) months.	Unlimited Shellfish (48) Unlimited Finfish (18) Buoy Colors: Illimited Finfish Endorsements on through 02/29/2024. All determing of the Standard Fishing License are charged only if you are a success (if awarded license) for the Standard Fishing License with two Unlimited Fishing License Fishing	\$ \$ the nations on oplication sful dard ited th in the

Note: Licensed fishers are obligated to comply with possession limits for finfish as provided in the Marine Fisheries listserve, dedicated phone line at (401) 423-1920, or webpage at www.dem.ri.gov/programs/fish-wildlife/marine-fisheries/mfsizes.php. Licensed shellfishers are obligated to comply with conditional closure areas as provided on DEM's dedicated phone line at (401) 222-2900. All Standard Fishing License holders with the Unlimited Shellfish endorsement must complete the 30-minute online shellfish tutorial located https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/ prior to the issuance of the license.

Guidance for Applicants Seeking New Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited Finfish Endorsement

2024

As described in the accompanying document entitled *New Standard Fishing License/Endorsement Opportunities Available for 2024*, eighteen (18) new Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited Finfish endorsement will be issued in 2024. As further described in the accompanying document, priority will be given to certain applicants for these endorsements. This document provides guidance for applicants seeking the new Standard Fishing License and endorsement, including how to determine if you may qualify for priority status and what you need to do to establish such status and properly submit an application by February 29, 2024. Residents and nonresidents aged 18 and older who do not qualify for priority status but still wish to obtain the new endorsement are still encouraged to apply (see sections VI and VII below), since there is a chance that non-priority resident and nonresident applicants will be given consideration, pending the outcome of the prioritization process.

Any questions regarding the application process should be directed to DEM's Office of Boat Registration & Licensing at 401-222-6647. All applications & supporting documentation must be mailed, or hand delivered by February 29, 2024, to the DEM, Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 235 Promenade St., Room 360 Providence, RI 02908-5767.

I. Priority Status under Category 1A

Q: Are you a RI resident?

If no, go to section VII below. If yes, proceed to next question.

Q: Have you held a Commercial Fishing License (CFL) with a Non-Restricted Finfish and Standard Fishing License (RSTND) with limited finfish endorsement over the past two years – i.e., a CFL in 2022 and an RSTND in 2023?

If no, go to section II below. If yes, proceed to the next question.

Q: Have you been actively fishing your Commercial Fishing CFL/ Resident Standard Fishing license RSTND – i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records that you have sold authorized non-restricted or limited finfish to RI licensed dealers on at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years.]

If no, go to section II below.

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024, indicating that you wish to obtain a new Standard Fishing license with Unlimited Finfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active holder of a RSTND with a limited finfish endorsement who previously held a CFL with a non-restricted finfish endorsement. Along with your application, you must submit the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for priority status. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively fishing on a continuous basis, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been actively fishing your CFL or RSTND. *All transaction records will be subject to verification by the Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the Department via the SAFIS reporting system. DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by a sufficient number of valid transaction records.*

II. Priority Status under Category 1B

Q: Have you held a Principal Effort License (PEL) and a Resident Standard Fishing License (RSTND) over the past two years – i.e., in 2022 and 2023?

If no, go to section III below.

Q: Have you been actively fishing your PEL/RSTND – i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records (and/or verified dockside sales of lobsters or crabs) that you have sold authorized seafood to RI dealers on at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years.]

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024, indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with an Unlimited Finfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active PEL/RSTND holder, based on your activity over the past two years in any fishery. Along with your application, you must submit the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for priority status. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively fishing on a continuous basis, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been actively fishing your PEL/RSTND. All transaction records will be subject to verification by the Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the Department via the SAFIS reporting system (or, with regard to dockside sales of lobsters or crabs, per section 2.7.5 D 1 (2) of the licensing regulations). DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by a sufficient number of valid transaction records.

III. Third Priority Status under Category 1C

Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents, have you served as a crew member aboard one or more commercial fishing vessels engaged in the finfish fishery?

If no, go to section IV below. If yes, proceed to the next question.

Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents, have you been actively participating as a crew member – i.e., can you demonstrate via one or more affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed Captains, that you have fished, resulting in RI landings, with that Captain, or those Captains, in the finfish fishery at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years; and all of the activity must have occurred subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents,] Please be advised according to the Commercial and Recreational Saltwater Fishing Licensing Regulations, Part 1, Section 1.7 – "Crew"

is defined as an individual, aged (16) or older, employed for purposes of assisting in the operation of a commercial fishing vessel and its gear by another person licensed to fish commercially pursuant to these regulations. Applicants must submit a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked to validate paid status. Failure to submit any of the required above documents will result in the applicant being excluded from this priority category.

If no, go to section IV below.

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024, indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with an Unlimited Finfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as a resident active crew member, based on your activity in the finfish fishery. Along with your application, you must submit the affidavit(s) necessary to qualify for priority status along with a W2, 1099, or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time, in years, they have been actively participating in the finfish fishery as crew members aged 16 or older for residents, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been employed in the fishery as a crew member (aged 16 or older, residents,). All applicants must use the blank Department Affidavit forms available from DEM (and posted on the website along with this document). All Affidavits must be signed by licensed Captains and notarized. Licensed Captains must have held a RI CFL, PEL, RSTND, NRSTND or MPURP license during the relevant period. DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by one or more valid Affidavits.

IV. Priority Status under Category 2A

Q: Have you held a CFL and RSTND with a Quahog, Shellfish Other, Soft-shell Clam, Unlimited/Limited Shellfish and/or Non-Lobster Crustacean or Unlimited/Limited crustacean endorsement over the past two years – i.e., in 2022 and 2023?

If no, go to section V below. If yes, proceed to next question.

Q: Have you been actively fishing your CFL/RSTND— i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records (and/or verified dockside sales of crabs) that you have sold authorized seafood to RI licensed dealers on at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years.]

If no, go to section V below.

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given secondary consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024 indicating that you wish to obtain a new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active RSTND holder who previously held a CFL. Along with your application, you must submit the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for priority status. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively fishing on a continuous basis, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been actively fishing your CFL or RSTND. All transaction records will be subject to verification by the Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the Department via the SAFIS reporting system (or, with regard to dockside sales of lobsters or crabs, per section 2.7.5 D 1 (2) of the licensing regulations). DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by a sufficient number of valid transaction records.

V. Priority Status under Category 2B

Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents, have you served as a crew member aboard a commercial fishing vessel engaged in the shellfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries?

If no, go to section VI below. If yes, proceed to the next question.

Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday, have you been actively participating as a crew member – i.e., can you demonstrate via one or more affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed Captains, that you have fished, resulting in RI landings with that Captain, or those Captains, at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023 in the shellfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years; and all of the activity must have occurred subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents.] Please be advised according to the Commercial and Recreational Saltwater Fishing

Licensing Regulations, Part1 Section 1.7 – "Crew" is defined as an individual, aged (16) or older, employed for purposes of assisting in the operation of a commercial fishing vessel and its gear by another person licensed to fish commercially pursuant to these regulations. Applicants must submit a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked to validate paid status. Failure to submit any of the required above documents will result in the applicant being excluded from this priority category.

If no, go to section VI below.

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given secondary consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024 indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active Crewmember, based on your activity in the shellfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries. Along with your application, you must submit the affidavit(s) necessary to qualify for priority status along with a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively participating as crew members (aged 16 or older, residents), so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been employed as a crew member (aged 16 or older residents). All applicants must use the blank Department Affidavit forms available from DEM (and posted on the website along with this document). All Affidavits must be signed by licensed Captains and notarized. Licensed Captains must have held a RI CFL, PEL, RSTND, NRSTND or MPURP license during the relevant period. DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by one or more valid Affidavits.

VI. Third Priority Status under Category 3

Q: Are you a person that falls under the categories below?

- A. A resident active member of the military (must provide copy of current Military ID #)
- B. A resident military Veteran who has been honorably discharged (must provide form DD-214 or other approved document from RI Department of Veterans Affairs.)
- C. A resident person that holds a valid certificate from an accredited commercial fishing apprenticeship program approved by the Department (Must provide copy of certificate of completion of program.)

If no, go to section VII below.

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given tertiary consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024 indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active military, veteran, or accredited apprentice, based on meeting the appropriate qualification above. Along with your application, you must submit either a copy of your current active military ID, or a copy of form DD-214 or other approved document from the RI Department of Veterans Affairs, or a copy of a certificate of

completion from a Department approved commercial fishing apprenticeship program to qualify for priority status.

VII. Priority Status under Category 4

Q: Are you a RI resident aged eighteen (18) or older?

If no, go to section VIII below.

If yes, as a RI resident aged 18 or older, you will be given consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. Pursuant to that process, if there are any endorsements remaining after the five priority categories are exhausted, they will be issued, by lottery, if necessary, to resident applicants aged 18 or older who do not qualify for priority status. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024, indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement.

VIII. Priority Status under Category 5

Q: Are you a non-resident of RI aged eighteen (18) or older?

If no, you do not qualify for a new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement.

If yes, as a non-resident of RI aged 18 or older, you will be given consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. Pursuant to that process, if there are any endorsements remaining after the above priority categories are exhausted, they will be issued, by lottery, if necessary, to non-resident applicants aged 18 or older who do not qualify for priority status. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024, indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement.

Guidance for Applicants Seeking New Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited Shellfish Endorsement

2024

As described in the accompanying document entitled *New Standard Fishing License/Endorsement Opportunities Available for 2024*, forty-eight (48) new Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement will be issued in 2024. As further described in the accompanying document, priority will be given to certain applicants for these endorsements. This document provides guidance for applicants seeking the new Standard Fishing License and endorsement, including how to determine if you may qualify for priority status and what you need to do to establish such status and properly submit an application by February 29, 2024. Residents aged 18 or older, who do not qualify for priority status but still wish to obtain the new endorsement are still encouraged to apply (see sections VI and VII below), since there is a chance that non-priority resident applicants will be given consideration, pending the outcome of the prioritization process.

Any questions regarding the application process should be directed to DEM's Office of Boat Registration & Licensing at 401-222-6647. All applications & supporting documentation must be mailed or hand delivered by February 29, 2024 to the DEM, Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 235 Promenade St., Room 360 Providence, RI 02908-5767.

I. Priority Status under Category 1A

Q: Are you a RI resident?

If no, go to section VII below. If yes, proceed to next question.

Q: Have you previously held a Commercial Fishing License (CFL), Principal Effort License (PEL) within the Shellfish Sector and currently hold a Resident Standard Fishing License RSTND with limited shellfish endorsement over the past two years – i.e., in CFL/PEL in 2022 and a RSTND in 2023?

If no, go to section II below. If yes, proceed to the next question.

Q: Have you been actively fishing your CFL, PEL, /Resident Standard Fishing License (RSTND) in the limited shellfish sector – i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records that you have sold authorized shellfish to RI licensed dealers on at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years.]

If no, go to section II below.

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024, indicating that you wish to obtain a new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active holder of a Resident Standard Fishing License with a Limited Shellfish endorsement who previously held a CFL/PEL with a shellfish sector endorsement. Along with your application, you must submit the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for priority status. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively fishing on a continuous basis, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been actively fishing your CFL, PEL,/ RSTND. All transaction records will be subject to verification by the Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the Department via the SAFIS reporting system. DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by a sufficient number of valid transaction records.

II. Priority Status under Category 1B

Q: Have you held a Principal Effort License (PEL) /Resident Standard Fishing License (RSTND) in another Unlimited fishery sector other than shellfish over the past two years – i.e., in 2022 and 2023?

If no, go to section III below.

Q: Have you been actively fishing your PEL/Resident Standard Fishing License (RSTND) in another Unlimited fishery sector – i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records (and/or verified dockside sales of lobsters or crabs) that you have sold authorized seafood to RI dealers on at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years.]

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024, indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with an Unlimited Shellfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active RSTND holder who previously held a PEL, based on your activity over the past two years in any fishery. Along with your application, you must submit the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for priority status. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively fishing on a continuous basis, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been actively fishing your PEL or RSTND. All transaction records will be subject to verification by the Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the Department via the SAFIS reporting system (or, with regard to dockside sales of lobsters or crabs, per section 2.7.5 D 1 (2) of the licensing regulations). DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by a sufficient number of valid transaction records.

III. Priority Status under Category 1C

Q: Subsequent to your 16^h birthday for residents, have you served as a crew member aboard one or more commercial fishing vessels engaged in the shellfish fishery?

If no, go to section IV below. If yes, proceed to the next question.

Q: Subsequent to your ^{16th} birthday, have you been actively participating as a crew member – i.e., can you demonstrate via one or more affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed Captains, that you have fished, resulting in RI landings, with that Captain, or those Captains, in the shellfish sector at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years; and all of the activity must have occurred subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents.] Please be advised according to the Commercial and Recreational Saltwater Fishing Licensing Regulations, Part 1, Section 1.7 – "Crew" is defined as an individual, aged (16) or older, employed for purposes of assisting in the operation of a commercial fishing vessel and its gear by another person licensed to fish commercially pursuant to these regulations. Applicants must submit a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked to validate paid status. Failure to submit any of the required above documents will result in the applicant being excluded from this priority category.

If no, go to section IV below.

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024, indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with an Unlimited Shellfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active crew member, based on your activity in the shellfish fishery. Along with your application, you must submit the Department Affidavit(s) necessary to qualify for priority status along with a W2, 1099, or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time, in years, they have been actively participating in the shellfish fishery as crew members aged 16 or older for residents so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been employed in the fishery as a crew member (aged 16 or older). All applicants must use the blank Department Affidavit forms available from DEM (and posted on the website along with this document). All Affidavits must be signed by licensed Captains and notarized. Licensed Captains must have held a RI CFL, PEL, RSTND, NRSTND or MPURP license during the relevant period. DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by one or more valid Affidavits.

IV. Priority Status under Category 2A

Q: Have you held a CFL or RSTND with a Restricted Finfish, Non-restricted finfish, Unlimited/Limited Finfish, Lobster Crustacean, Non-Lobster Crustacean, Unlimited/Limited or limited crustacean, endorsement over the past two years – i.e., in 2022 and 2023?

If no, go to section V below. If yes, proceed to next question.

Q: Have you been actively fishing your CFL/RSTND—i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records (and/or verified dockside sales of crabs) that you have sold authorized seafood to RI licensed dealers on at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years.]

If no, go to section V below.

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given secondary consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024 indicating that you wish to obtain a new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active RSTND holder who has previously held a CFL. Along with your application, you must submit the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for priority status. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively fishing on a continuous basis, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been actively fishing your CFL/RSTND. All transaction records will be subject to verification by the Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the Department via the SAFIS reporting system (or, with regard to dockside sales of lobsters or crabs, per section 2.7.5 D 1 (2) of the licensing regulations). DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by a sufficient number of valid transaction records.

V. Priority Status under Category 2B

Q: Are you a resident who subsequent to your 16th birthday have you served as a crew member aboard a commercial fishing vessel engaged in the finfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries?

If no, go to section VI below. If yes, proceed to the next question.

Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday have you been actively participating as a crew member – i.e., can you demonstrate via one or more affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed Captains, that you have fished, resulting in RI landings with that Captain, or those Captains, at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023 in the finfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years; and all of the activity must have occurred subsequent to your 16th birthday.] Please be advised according to the Commercial and Recreational Saltwater Fishing Licensing Regulations, Part1 Section 1.7 – "Crew" is defined as an individual, aged (16) or older, employed for purposes of assisting in the operation of a commercial fishing vessel and its gear by another person licensed to fish commercially pursuant to these regulations. Applicants must submit a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked to validate paid status. Failure to submit any of the required above documents will result in the applicant being excluded from this priority category.

If no, go to section VI below.

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given secondary consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024 indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement. Your application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active crew member, based on your activity in the finfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries. Along with your application, you must submit the Department Affidavit(s) necessary to qualify for priority status along with a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked. Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively participating as crew members (aged 16 or older), so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been employed as a crew member (aged 16 or older residents). All applicants must use the blank Department Affidavit forms available from DEM (and posted on the website along with this document). All Affidavits must be signed by licensed Captain(s) and notarized. Licensed Captain(s) must have held a RI CFL, PEL, RSTND, NRSTND or MPURP license during the relevant period. DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by one or more valid Affidavits.

VI. Priority Status under Category 3:

Q: Are you a resident person that falls under the categories below?

- A. A resident active member of the military (must provide current military ID #)
- B. A resident military Veteran who has been honorably discharged (must provide form DD-214 or other approved document from RI Department of Veterans Affairs.)
- C. A resident person that holds a valid certificate from an accredited commercial fishing apprenticeship program approved by the Department (Must provide copy of certificate of completion of program.)

If no, go to section VII below.

VII. Priority Status under Category 4

Q: Are you a RI resident aged eighteen (18) or older?

If no, you do not qualify for a new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement.

If yes, as a RI resident aged 18 or older, you will be given consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document. Pursuant to that process, if there are any endorsements remaining after the above priority categories are exhausted, they will be issued, by lottery if necessary, to resident applicants aged 18 or older who do not qualify for priority status. To be considered, you must submit an application by February 29, 2024, indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement.

2024 Department Affidavit

In Support of a

Standard Fishing License to the RI Department of Environmental Management

To establish priority status as an active, paid resident crew member, an applicant for a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish and/or Unlimited Finfish must be able to demonstrate via one or more Affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed Captains that he or she fished with that Captain, or those Captains, at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023. [Note: the 40 days of activity must be documented by dated transaction records that demonstrate that the Captain (s) have sold authorized seafood to RI Licensed Dealers on at least 40 days and that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years. Also, all of the activity must have occurred subsequent to the applicant's 16th birthday for residents. Also: Captains must have held a valid CFL, PEL, RSTND, NRSTND or MPURP license during the relevant fishing period as well as having the vessel commercially declared. Additionally, crew members will be required to submit proof of being paid by the Captain by submitting a W-2 form, 1099 form and/or paycheck stub(s) from a financial institution for each year worked along with the New License Opportunity Application by February 29, 2024. I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I am a RI licensed commercial fisherman, that I serve as Captain of the commercial fishing vessel(s) identified the below, has served as a paid crew member on my boat(s) during 2022 and/or 2023 for the period indicated below. Please make note of additional years worked and days fished for each year (if applicable) on the reverse side of this Affidavit. Applicants must submit a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs to validate paid status for each year worked. Failure to submit any of the required above documents along with the New License Opportunity Application will result in the applicant being excluded from this priority category. I understand that fraud on the part of any existing license holder, including, but not limited to a Captain who signs an Affidavit in support of a claim of paid crew member status that turns out to be false or inaccurate, may result in the suspension or revocation of the license held by the existing license holder and will deem crew member ineligible for consideration of new license/endorsement. I have reviewed this Affidavit with my crew member and we agree all information contained herein is valid. Name of Captain: Signature of Captain & contact telephone number: License Number: Registration Number (s) of Declared Vessel (s): Type of Fishery in which Applicant was/is Engaged as crew member: Level of activity {check either box; if second box is checked, provide estimate for # of days}: Applicant fished with me at least 40 days during 2022 and 2023. Applicant fished with me days during 2022 and/or days during 2023. This Affidavit must be notarized (Captain's signature requires Notary Public):

Signature of Notary Public My Commission Expires

Sworn to before me a Notary Public this day of , 2024

Taxation Certification Requirements

A state law, enacted in 2004, requires everyone applying for any license from the state to first certify that they have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due to the State, or entered into a written installment agreement with the Tax Administrator to pay delinquent state taxes. Accordingly, all applicants for new or renewed commercial fishing licenses must first complete one of the following two requirements:

- a) Sign a Taxation Certification, certifying compliance with all state tax obligations as noted above; the form must also include the applicant's social security number or FEIN, or
- b) Furnish a Letter of Good Standing from the Tax Administrator. (401)574-8756.

The Taxation Certification form is available from DEM; it may be completed at the counter while applying for a license or may be filled out online and submitted as part of the online renewal process. Letters of Good Standing must be obtained from the RI Division of Taxation, Collections Division, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 (401) 574-8756. **DEM will not issue any new or renewed license until the applicant has submitted a properly completed Taxpayer Affidavit or a Letter of Good Standing**.

Any questions regarding the new tax law should be directed to the RI Division of Taxation at 401-574-8941.

Taxpayer Certification

You are required to furnish your Social Security # or FEIN pursuant to Chapter 76 of Title 5 and Chapter 3 of Title 31 of the RI General Laws, as amended. Any person applying for any license or permit to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island or any person renewing a motor vehicle operator's license or motor vehicle registration within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due the state or must have entered into a written installment agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. Failure to provide the Department with your Social Security # or FEIN will result in you having to obtain a Letter of Good Standing from the RI Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 **PRIOR** to the issuance or renewal of your license. If you have any questions regarding your tax status, please contact Taxation directly at 401-574-8941.

I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a writteninstallment agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.

Applicant's Signature	Date
Printed Name	
Social Security # or FEIN	
Marine License #	_

RI Shellfish Harvester Education & Certification Program

January 2024

DEM launched an education and certification program in 2018 that is mandatory for everyone who commercially harvests and lands shellfish in RI. The goal of the program is to ensure that shellfish harvesters deliver a safe product to shellfish dealers and, in turn, to shellfish consumers. **This course must be completed prior to the issuance of a new license/endorsement.**

In accordance with US FDA requirements, and new regulations adopted by DEM in 2018, holders of all applicable commercial licenses and landing permits must obtain certification via the new program. Applicants must submit Certificate of Completion prior to license issuance (new applicants only).

The certification requirement applies to:

- All holders of commercial shellfish licenses -- i.e., Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement; Over 65 Shellfish Licenses, and Student Shellfish Licenses;
- All holders of Multipurpose Licenses who harvest shellfish; and
- All holders of Landing Permits who land shellfish.

The certification requirement applies to both License/Permit renewals and new Licenses/Permits, beginning in 2018. Certification is valid for 5 years, after which re-certification will be required.

To obtain certification:

Complete a 30-minute online tutorial, which is available here:

https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/