

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND BOARD OF CERTIFICATION OF OPERATORS OF WASTEWATER TREATMENT

FACILITIES 235 Promenade Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02908

October 2023

2023-2025 RENEWAL FORM RI Wastewater Operators

It's that time again. Per Chapter 42-17.4 of the Rhode Island General Laws, as amended, and the Rhode Island Rules and Regulations for Wastewater Treatment Facility Operators (RICR-150-10-5), please be aware that your wastewater operator's license will expire at midnight on December 31, 2023.

YOU HAVE TWO OPTIONS TO RENEW

- 1. For standard renewals, follow the instructions on the back by **signing only Acknowledgement #1** to renew your license with a standard renewal, OR
- 2. If you have attained **twenty hours of approved training**, you should **also** sign the Optional **Acknowledgement #2—as well as Acknowledgement #1—**for a "Tier Two" renewal (T2).

Either way, payment of the \$10 renewal fee and this completed renewal form must be <u>received</u> to <u>DEM</u> (not <u>postmarked</u>) by 4:00 p.m., <u>Friday</u>, <u>December 29</u>, 2023. Please note DEM is closed on December 30 and 31, 2023 (weekends) as well as January 1, 2024 (State Holiday). Therefore, renewal must be received on 4:00 p.m., Friday, December 29, 2023.

- Per the above statutory and regulatory requirements, all operators of wastewater treatment facilities in Rhode Island must maintain licensure to remain employed at a wastewater treatment facility in Rhode Island.
- Failure to renew by December 31, 2023, for the coming two-year renewal period will result in the assessment of late fees of up to \$25 or the expiration of your license. Should your license expire, re-certification will be through examination only. Please note that only operators employed at a wastewater treatment facility in Rhode Island can sit for examination.
- Remember: Your renewal must be received, not mailed, by 4:00 p.m. December 29, 2023.
 Walk-ins are recommended if you're getting close to that date to avoid delays with the US Postal Service.
- You need not be living in Rhode Island or working at a Rhode Island wastewater treatment facility to renew. All current license holders may renew.
- If you do not wish to renew your license, please contact Traci Pena at <u>Traci.Pena@dem.ri.gov</u>, so we can stop sending you renewal information.

Questions? As always, feel free contact Traci or Matt Puglia at Matt.Puglia@dem.ri.gov

Scan this QR Code to Sign up for the WWTF Operators Email List:



RETURN THIS PAGE WITH PAYMENT AND SIGNATURE(S)

RHODE ISLAND BOARD OF CERTIFICATION OF OPERATORS OF WASTEWATER TREATMENT FACILITIES

2024-2025 WASTEWATER OPERATOR RENEWAL INSTRUCTIONS:

1. READ, SIGN, AND DATE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT #1 BELOW

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT #1 (EVERYONE MUST SIGN)

	•
licensure, per the <i>Rules and Regulations of C</i> responsibility to notify the Board regarding any clin subsequent renewal periods if the Board cannot that this renewal will expire at midnight on De	am the license holder in question and that as a condition of Operators of Wastewater Treatment Facilities, it is my hange in my home address, otherwise I may forfeit licensure t locate me for renewal. I also acknowledge that I am aware exember 31, 2025, and that it is my responsibility to secure my wastewater operator license by that date, otherwise I will be expire.
SIGNATURE	DATE
PRINT NAME:	CERT. No.:
ADDRESS:	
CITY, ST ZIP:	

- 2. **ENCLOSE** A \$10 CHECK OR MONEY ORDER MADE OUT TO: *TREASURER*, *STATE OF RHODE ISLAND*
- NO CASH PAYMENTS WILL BE ACCEPTED.
- Walk-in credit card payments are accepted at DEM, 235 Promenade Street, Providence. Note: When paying by credit card, an additional convenience fee of \$1.20 is charged for a \$10 payment. Higher convenience fees are charged for higher payment values.
- 3. MAIL THIS COMPLETED FORM AND THE \$10 FEE TO THIS ADDRESS:

WWTF LICENSE RENEWAL
DEM – PERMIT APPLICATION CENTER
235 PROMENADE ST., PROVIDENCE, RI 02908

LATE FEES OF UP TO \$25 WILL BE ASSESSED AND /OR LICENSES MAY EXPIRE IF DEM RECEIVES THIS FORM AND \$10 FEE AFTER FRIDAY, DECEMBER 29, 2023.

OPTIONAL ACKNOWLEDGEMENT #2: (SIGN THIS ONLY IF YOU HAVE 20 HOURS OF APPROVED T	RAINING)
I, the undersigned, voluntarily seek Tier Two licensure renewal of my gra minimum of twenty hours of approved training related to wastewater operations present. As proof, I have attached evidence/copies of training completion forms,	between January 1, 2022, and
SIGNATURE	DATE

FOR OFFICIAL	L USE ONLY:	
Fee Paid:	Check/Card/MO #	Date Paid