RHODE ISLAND
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908-5767 Rhode Island Relay 711
Office of Boat Registration &Licensing 3™ Floor — Room 360 (401) 222-6647

2023 RESIDENT STANDARD FISHING LICENSE APPLICATION

Customer # : Office Use only

Applicant Mailing Address Residence Address (Cannot be a PO Box)
Name:

Street: Street:

City: RI 02 City: RI 02

DOB:

Height: Weight: Fisheries Lic#

Hair Color: Eye Color:

RI Driver’s License # & Expiration Date: Occupation:

Has your commercial fishing license and/or permit been revoked or suspended in any state or jurisdiction?
[JYes [ No (Check One)

*** (APPLICATION MUST BE RECEIVED NO LATER THAN 02/28/2023) ***

Renewal Grace Period with $200.00 Late Fee March 1, 2023 — April 29, 2023—- Does Not Apply to New License
Applications — Renewal Licenses Only — It is unlawful to fish or sell fishery products without a current 2023 license

Reporting Method — Check Method — Required of all

Standard Fishing License holders other than those Standard Fishing License $
endorsed in Limited Shellfish

Renewal - Unlimited Shellfish $

Logbook Endorsement $25.00 Limited Shellfish $
VTR $0.00 Renewal - Unlimited Crustacean $
Electronic $0.00 Limited Crustacean $
Renewal - Unlimited Finfish $
Limited Finfish $

Purse Seine $20.00

Dockside Endorsement $25.00

SFO65+ Shellfish License $0.00

Please refer to fee structure for pricing of Standard Licenses with Endorsements

All holders of SFO65 & Standard Fishing Licenses endorsed with Limited or Unlimited Shellfish endorsement (s) must complete,
prior to license issuance, the 30 minute on line shellfish harvester tutorial located at https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/
and must submit Certificate of Completion with this application (new applicants only).

RIGL §20-1-3(10) “Resident” means an individual who has had his or her actual place of residence and has lived in the
state of Rhode Island for a continuous period of not less than six (6) months.
Under penalty of perjury, | declare | am a Rhode Island resident and the information contained herein is true and
accurate:

Signature: Date: Telephone #

Notary Public Comm. Exp.

Note: Licensed fishers are obligated to comply with possession limits for finfish as provided in the Marine Fisheries listserve,
dedicated phone line at (401) 423-1920, or webpage at www.dem.ri.gov/programs/fish-wildlife/marine-fisheries/mfsizes.php.
Licensed shellfishers are obligated to comply with conditional closure areas as provided on DEM’s dedicated phone line at (401)
222-2900.

Checks/Money Orders payable to RI, DEM
Every vessel engaged in the RI Commercial Fishing Industry must be declared on a Commercial Vessel Declaration Application.



https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/

Rhode Island
& Department of Environmental Management
Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 3™ Floor, Room 360
o 235 Promenade Street Providence, Rl 02908-5767

401-222-6647 www.dem.ri.gov Rhode Island Relay 711

Rl Shellfish Harvester Education & Certification Program

January 2023

DEM launched an education and certification program in 2018 that is mandatory for everyone who
commercially harvests and lands shellfish in RI. The goal of the program is to ensure that shellfish
harvesters deliver a safe product to shellfish dealers and, in turn, to shellfish consumers. This course
must be completed prior to the issuance of a new license/endorsement.

In accordance with US FDA requirements, and new regulations adopted by DEM in 2018, holders of all
applicable commercial licenses and landing permits must obtain certification via the new program.
Applicants must submit Certificate of Completion prior to license issuance (new applicants only).

The certification requirement applies to:

e All holders of commercial shellfish licenses -- i.e., Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited
Shellfish endorsement; Over 65 Shellfish Licenses, and Student Shellfish Licenses;

e All holders of Multipurpose Licenses who harvest shellfish; and

e All holders of Landing Permits who land shellfish.

The certification requirement applies to both License/Permit renewals and new Licenses/Permits,
beginning in 2018. All certificates are valid for 5 years, after which re-certification will be required.

To obtain certification:

Complete a 30-minute online tutorial, which is available here:
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/

To learn more about the program, including detailed information on all regulatory requirements and
exceptions pertaining to the program, visit www.dem.ri.gov/harvester.

For further information on any aspect of the new certification program, contact Robert Ballou in the
DEM Director’s Office at Robert.Ballou@dem.ri.gov, 401-222-4700, ext. 2774420



http://www.dem.ri.gov/
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/
http://www.dem.ri.gov/harvester
mailto:Robert.Ballou@dem.ri.gov

ercial Licensi
New Fees:

Standard License Non-Resident

+ 1 limited fishery endorsement $300

+ 2 limited fishery endorsements $700

+ 3 limited fishery endorsements $1,050

+ | unlimited fishery endorsement | $700

+ 1 unlimited fishery and $1.050
+ 1 limited fishery endorsement ’

+ 2 unlimited fishery endorsements | | N ~$1,400

+ 1 unlimited fishery and $1.400
+ 2 limited fishery endorsements ’

+2unlimited fishery endorsements and | g0 | g0
+ 1 limited fishery endorsement SR IOV

Multipurpose License N/A
Landing Permit - o ss00
Party/Charter License $300




N@W Eweme/md@rsemem types:

PEL Wlth .Restrlcted Fmﬁsh endorsement

Standard license with Unlimited Finfish
endorsement

CFL/PEL with Non-Restricted Finfish
endorsement

Standard license with Limited Finfish
endorsement

CFEF L/PEL with Quahaug, Soft-Shell
Clam and/or Whelk endorsement

Standard license with Unlimited Shellfish
endorsement

CF L/PEL with Shellfish Other
endorsement

Standard license with Limited Shellfish
endorsement

CFL/PEL with Lobster endorsement

Standard license w1th Unlimited Crustacean
endorsement

CFL/PEL with Non-Lobster Crustacean
endorsement

Standard license with Limited Crustacean
endorsement

CFL/PEL with Quahaug endorsement -
persons under 65 years old

Standard license with Unlimited Shellfish
endorsement

CFL/PEL with Quahaug endorsement -
persons over 65 vears old

Standard license with Unlimited Shellfish
endorsement or Over-65 Shellfish license

Multipurpose License

Multipurpose License

Student Shellfish License

Student Shellfish License

Over-65 Shellfish license

Over-65 Shellfish license




RHODE ISLAND
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

OFFICE OF BOAT REGISTRATION & LICENSING
235 Promenade Street, Room 360 (401) 222-6647 Rhode Island Relay 711
Providence, Rhode Island 02908

Taxation Certification Requirements

A new state law, enacted in 2004, requires everyone applying for any license from the state to
first certify that they have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due to the State,
or entered into a written installment agreement with the Tax Administrator to pay delinquent
state taxes. Accordingly, all applicants for new or renewed commercial fishing licenses must first
complete one of the following two requirements:

a) Sign a Taxation Certification, certifying compliance with all state tax obligations as
noted above; the form must also include the applicant’s social security number or
FEIN, or

b) Furnish a Letter of Good Standing from the Tax Administrator. (401)574-8756.

The Taxation Certification form is available from DEM; it may be completed at the counter
while applying for a license or may be filled out online and submitted as part of the online
renewal process. Letters of Good Standing must be obtained from the RI Division of Taxation,
Collections Division, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 (401) 574-8756. DEM will not issue
any new or renewed license until the applicant has submitted a properly completed
Taxpayer Affidavit or a Letter of Good Standing.

Any questions regarding the new tax law should be directed to the RI Division of Taxation at
401-574-8941.



RHODE ISLAND
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

OFFICE OF BOAT REGISTRATION & LICENSING

v 235 Promenade Street, Room 360 (401) 222-6647 Rhode Island Relay 711
Providence, Rhode Island 02908

Taxpavyer Certification

You are required to furnish your Social Security # or FEIN pursuant to Chapter 76 of
Title 5 and Chapter 3 of Title 31 of the RI General Laws, as amended. Any person
applying for any license or permit to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode
Island or any person renewing a motor vehicle operator’s license or motor vehicle
registration within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all
taxes due the state or must have entered into a written installment agreement to pay
delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. Failure to provide the
Department with your Social Security # or FEIN will result in you having to obtain a
Letter of Good Standing from the RI Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill Providence,
RI 02908 PRIOR to the issuance or renewal of your license. If you have any questions
regarding your tax status, please contact Taxation directly at 401-574-8941.

1 hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax
returns and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a written
installment agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.

Applicant’s Signature Date

Printed Name
Social Security # or FEIN

Marine License #
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