

Rhode Island Department of Environmental Management

235 Promenade Street | Providence, RI 02908-5767 | www.dem.ri.gov | @RhodelslandDEM
Office of Boating Registration & Licensing | 3rd Floor, Room 360 | 401.222.6647 | TDD 401.222.4462

RI PARTY & CHARTER VESSEL LICENSE APPLICATON EXPIRATION DATE: DECEMBER 31, 2025 FEE: RESIDENT \$100.00 NON-RESIDENT \$300.00

Name of Owner/Applicant:	State: Zip: Eye Color: tegistration #:
Height: Weight: Hair Color: Ey Name of Vessel: Boat Reg Homeport: Phone: _ E Mail Address: Driver's List name(s) of operator(s) & crew member(s) below. Sho	Eye Color: Legistration #: :
Name of Vessel: Boat Reg Homeport: Phone: _ E Mail Address: Driver's List name(s) of operator(s) & crew member(s) below. Sho	egistration #:
Homeport: Phone: _ E Mail Address: Driver's List name(s) of operator(s) & crew member(s) below. Sho	:
E Mail Address: Driver's List name(s) of operator(s) & crew member(s) below. Sho	
List name(s) of operator(s) & crew member(s) below. Sho	
	's Lic # & State:
If additional space is required, please attach a separate sh	
The following documents must be furnished (please attact 1. A current copy of the operator's USCG license to carry p	•
2. A current copy of the vessel's "Certificate of Documenta	•
 Documented "Coastwise", or, if the vessel is under five 3. Proof that the operator & crew are currently enrolled in with the Federal Government's 46CFR "Drug Testing Pr 3000. 4. A signed application form certifying that the vessel is & Federal safety regulations for the vessel. (By signing thi compliance with all State and Federal safety regulations 	in a random drug-testing program that complies Program" regulations USCG Sector Boston 1-617-223- & will be operated in compliance with all State and this form, you agree the vessel will be operated in this for the vessel).
5. Complete the Taxation Certification pursuant to RIGL5-	5-76 and 31-3 & submit along with application.
6. Proof of electronic reporting method (SAFIS).7. Copy of driver's license.	
Under penalty of law, I hereby certify that the	
Applicant's Signature	the above information is true and correct:

Payments accepted: check/money orders payable to State of RI – DEM, exact cash or credit card (convenience fees apply). Mailing Address: RI DEM Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 235 Promenade St., Room 360 Providence, RI 02908-5767



RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

DIVISION OF MARINE FISHERIES

Three Fort Wetherill Road Jamestown, Rhode Island 02835

Notice to Rhode Island Party and Charter Boat License Holders:

Rhode Island state licensed Party / Charter captains are required to submit logbook reports to document fishing catch and effort from all trips conducted in Rhode Island state waters while fishing in for hire mode. The new reporting requirements took effect beginning in 2019 (RIMFR 2.9.2(F)). All trips must be documented electronically and submitted to the Standard Atlantic Fisheries Reporting System (SAFIS) within 48 hours of the end of the trip. Vessel Captains who have not submitted reports from all trips made in for hire mode will be not be allowed to renew their RI Party and Charter Boat License. Submission of electronic vessel trip reports (eVTRs) required by NOAA Fisheries satisfies this reporting requirement. No additional reporting is required from federal vessels that are submitting eVTRs.

Please fill out the following information about your electronic reporting methods for inclusion with your renewal materials your Party and Charter Boat License:

Name:		
Vessel Name:		
Vessel State Registration/ USCG Doc#:		
Email Address:		
Electronic Reporting Method: (circle one)	State only eTrips	Federally Permitted VTRs
Electronic Reporting Username:		

If you do not have an account for electronic reporting you must set up one prior to renewing your license. For more information on how to sign up for an account please refer to the attached document or on the internet visit http://www.accsp.org/what-we-do/safis/etrip.

Getting Up and Running with SAFIS eTrips to Submit Electronic Trip Reports

Starting in 2019, all party and charter vessels holding a Rhode Island Party and Charter Boat License are be required to submit electronic logbook reports. There are several options available to submit reports, any of software applications accepted by NOAA Fisheries meet the requirements and can be found here: https://www.greateratlantic.fisheries.noaa.gov/aps/evtr/electronic/index.html. While there are multiple options available for reporting, many are likely to choose the free SAFIS eTrips platform offered by the Atlantic Coastal Cooperative Statistics Program (ACCSP). This software platformed was piloted with RIDEM, ACCSP, and the for hire industry to meet the needs of this data reporting requirement.

Note that it is the responsibility of the developer of each system and not RIDEM, to provide support and instruction for their system!

There are two versions of eTrips. eTrips/Mobile allows users to enter fishing reports directly into a mobile device (cell phone or tablet computer) while on the water, or transcribe paper reports (completed on the water) once on land. eTrips Online is designed for users to transcribe paper reports (completed on the water) into a web-based form using a personal computer once they return to the dock. The following sections provide instructions for getting started with both versions of eTrips.

eTrips/Mobile

eTrips/Mobile is the mobile, tablet-based version of ACCSP's eTrips application that allows captains to capture their catch and effort data while at sea, independent of a full-time internet connection. This application is available on tablets on Apple, Android, and Windows platforms. There is no need for an internet connection at sea. Trips may be categorized as commercial, or party/charter.

eTrips Online

eTrips is a web-based application that compiles catch and effort data from fishermen. This application allows fishermen to create trip reports after entering in the required fields in the trip, effort. and catch categories. Trips may be categorized as commercial, or party/charter.

User Instructions

1. Obtain a SAFIS User Name and Password.

Very Important: You will be using your USCG Merchant Mariner Credential (MMC) as your license for reporting trips, not your RI Party and Charter Boat License number.

You will need to provide RIDEM with some information for us to set up an account. Please fill out the form on our website with the requested information. To find the form on our website:

- 1. Go to www.dem.ri.gov
- 2. On the upper navigation bar "Offices and Divisions" Click on "Marine Fisheries"
- 3. On the right click on "Commercial Fishing/Dealer Resources"
- 4. Click "Commercial Licensing & Logbooks"
- 5. Below the chart click "Sign Up for Online Harvester Catch and Effort Reporting (eTRIPS and eTRIPS Mobile"

You must fill out this form even if you already have an existing account for your commercial fishing license. You will be emailed your account information once processed. If you already have a SAFIS account and have forgotten your SAFIS username and/or password contact the helpdesk at **1-800-984-0810** or mobile_support@accsp.org.

2. Access eTrips

For eTrip -M: The application is available in the iOS,Google Play, and windows app stores for free. Download the application to your iPhone or iPad in the App Store (iOS),to your Android device in the google play store, or Windows store for windows tablets/computers.

Note: There are two versions of eTrips/M: an evaluation and a production version. Be sure to download the **production** version or your reports will not be submitted!

For eTrips Online: The eTrips online system can be found on the SAFIS web site here: https://safis.accsp.org:8443/safis_prod/f?p=SAFIS:101. It is recommended that you bookmark the site (Ctrl-D) for ease of access in the future.

3. Learn to use the application

For eTrips-M: Watch the user tutorials provided at http://www.accsp.org/what-wedo/safis/etrips-mobile-instructions to learn how to use the application. An informative video about the application is available here: http://www.accsp.org/what-we-do/safis/etrips. For help with reprotign issues contact Harborlight Software: https://www.harborlightsoftware.com/etrips-support.

For eTrips Online: A presentation of step by step instructions is provided here: http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/bnatres/fishwild/pdf/shelp.pdf. Additional support can be found here: https://www.accsp.org/what-we-do/safis/etrips-mobile-instructions/

4. Login to eTrips and set up favorites

Using your SAFIS username and password login to either eTrips – Mobile or eTrips Online and set up "favorites" for your account. You can set up favorites for your vessel(s), species, ports, etc. This creates a short list of commonly used choices which will speed up data entry. They can be changed or added to at any time.

5. Start reporting your trips

For eTrips-Mobile: Start documenting your trips on the tablet/cell phone while board your vessel. When finished you upload the reports when you are back on shore and connected to wifi. You may also complete paper reports at sea for transcribing into eTRIPS Mobile on land. If you have any questions or technical issues, contact the SAFIS helpdesk at 1-800-984-0810 or email support@harborlightsoftware.com.

For eTrips Online: Start documenting your trips in your captain's logbook while on board your vessel. When back at home you have 48 hours to enter the data and report your trip on using home computer and internet connection. If you have any questions or technical issues, contact Coly Ares (401) 423-1926/ nichole.ares@dem.ri.gov, Tom Rosa at 401-423-1923/thomas.rosa@dem.ri.gov , or the SAFIS helpdesk at 1-800-984-0810 or email mobile_support@accsp.org.



RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

OFFICE OF BOAT REGISTRATION & LICENSING

235 Promenade Street, Room 360 (401) 222-6647 Rhode Island Relay 711 Providence, Rhode Island 02908

Taxation Certification Requirements

A new state law, enacted in 2004, requires everyone applying for any license from the state to first certify that they have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due to the State, or entered into a written installment agreement with the Tax Administrator to pay delinquent state taxes. Accordingly, all applicants for new or renewed commercial fishing licenses must first complete one of the following two requirements:

- Sign a Taxation Certification, certifying compliance with all state tax obligations as noted above; the form must also include the applicant's social security number or FEIN, or
- b) Furnish a Letter of Good Standing from the Tax Administrator. (401)574-8756.

The Taxation Certification form is available from DEM; it may be completed at the counter while applying for a license or may be filled out online and submitted as part of the online renewal process. Letters of Good Standing must be obtained from the RI Division of Taxation, Collections Division, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 (401) 574-8756. **DEM will not issue any new or renewed license until the applicant has submitted a properly completed Taxpayer Affidavit or a Letter of Good Standing.**

Any questions regarding the new tax law should be directed to the RI Division of Taxation at 401-574-8941.



RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

OFFICE OF BOAT REGISTRATION & LICENSING

235 Promenade Street, Room 360 (401) 222-6647 Rhode Island Relay 711 Providence, Rhode Island 02908

Taxpayer Certification

You are required to furnish your Social Security # or FEIN pursuant to Chapter 76 of Title 5 and Chapter 3 of Title 31 of the RI General Laws, as amended. Any person applying for any license or permit to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island or any person renewing a motor vehicle operator's license or motor vehicle registration within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due the state or must have entered into a written installment agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator. Failure to provide the Department with your Social Security # or FEIN will result in you having to obtain a Letter of Good Standing from the RI Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill Providence, RI 02908 **PRIOR** to the issuance or renewal of your license. If you have any questions regarding your tax status, please contact Taxation directly at 401-574-8941.

I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a written installment agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.

Applicant's Signature	Date
Printed Name	
Social Security # or FEIN	
Marine License #	