

R.I. Department of Environmental Management Division of Fish and Wildlife

2021-22 Waterfowl Seasons and Bag Limits



Season	Dates	Daily Bag Limit		
Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days*	October 30 - 31, 2021	Same as regular season.		
Youth Hunters ages 12-15 accompanied by a properly licensed adult, 21 years of age or older.				
Canada Goose Early Season	September 1 - 30, 2021	15		
Shooting hours are $\frac{1}{2}$ hour before sunrise to $\frac{1}{2}$ hour after sunset for the September season only.				
Canada Goose Regular Season	November 20 - 28, 2021 and December 4, 2021 - January 23, 2022	2		
Permits and reservations are required to hunt the goose fields at the South Shore Management Area** in South Kingstown.				
Canada Goose Late Season	January 29 - February 12, 2022	5		
CLOSED in Newport County, and portions of Washington County as described in RI Hunting Regulations § 9.11(B)(3)(d).				
Snow Geese (Inc. Blue Geese)	October 9, 2021 - January 23, 2022	25 No Poss. Limit		
Brant	December 5, 2021 - January 23, 2022	2		
Possession Limit: Three (3) times the Daily Bag Limit (unless otherwise indicated)				
* Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days October 30 - 31, 2021 Youth hunters must be 12-15 years of age.				
 May take ducks, sea ducks and geese following daily bag and possession limits for the regular seasons. 				
 Youth hunters shall hunt only in the immediate company of a qualified, licensed adult, 21 years of age or older. 				
The accompanying adult(s) are prohibited from hunting on Youth Waterfowl Hunting Days.				
 Youth hunters and accompanying adults must have current Rhode Island hunting licenses and H.I.P permits. 				
Accompanying adult(s) must also possess valid state and federal waterfowl stamps.				
** South Shore Management Area				
• Permit and hunting log available 24 hrs/day through the online licensing system or the DEM, Fish and Wildlife Great Swamp Field Office during normal business hours.				
Reservations are required to hunt the Canada Goose Regular Season.				
 Reservation information available from the DEM Fish and Wildlife Great Swamp Field Office or on the website. 				
Closed during the Canada Goose Late Season (January 29 - February 12, 2022).				
Division of Law Enforcement 24hr Violation Line: (401) 222-3070				



R.I. Department of Environmental Management Division of Fish and Wildlife

2021-22 Waterfowl Seasons and Bag Limits



Season	Dates	Daily Bag Limit		
Ducks	October 8 - 11, 2021 November 24 - 28, 2021 December 4, 2021 - January 23, 2022	6*		
may be a hen, th	nit shall include no more than two (2) mallard ree (3) wood ducks, two (2) redheads, two (2) e (1) or two (2) scaup (see below), and two (2)	black ducks, one		
Scaup	October 8 - 11, November 24 - 28, December 4 - January 3, 2022	1		
	January 4 - 23, 2022	2		
Mergansers	Same As Ducks	5**		
** No more than two (2)/ day may be hooded mergansers.				
Coots	Same As Ducks	15		
Sea Ducks ¹	November 25, 2021 - January 23, 2022	5***		
¹ Except for the periods of November 25 - 28, 2021 and December 4, 2021 - January 23, 2022, sea ducks may only be taken in the Special Sea Duck Hunting Area. See RI Hunting Regulations § 9.11(D)(1) for details. *** The daily bag limit is 5, singly or in aggregate, but not to exceed				
	4 Scoter, 4 Eider (1 Hen) , or 4 Long-tailed Ducks.			
Swans	CLOSED			
	Harlequin Duck CLOSED			
<u>Possession Limit:</u> Three (3) times the Daily Bag Limit.				
 2021-22 Waterfowl Regulation Highlights The eider daily bag limit remains 4 birds but only one may be a hen. Scaup has been split into two seasons; October 8 - 11, November 24 - 28, December 4 - January 3, 2022 with a daily bag limit of 1. January 4 - 23, 2022 with a daily bag limit of 2. The daily bag limit of scaup is part of the duck daily bag limit of 6. Shooting hours are ½ hour before sunrise to sunset unless otherwise noted in the regulations. Discharge of a firearm within 500 feet of an occupied dwelling is prohibited. Non-Toxic Shot Requirement: The possession of shells loaded with any shot other than non-toxic shot by any person hunting waterfowl, rails or snipe is prohibited. Cripples may be pursued, shot and retrieved from a boat under power in tidal waters seaward of the first upstream bridge; crippled birds must be immediately killed. Closed Areas: See regulations for a list and descriptions. 				
Waterfowl Stamp and H.I.P Permit				
 All waterfowl hunters sixteen (16) years of age and older are required by law to purchase a Rhode Island Waterfowl Stamp as well as a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp. State waterfowl stamp certifications issued through the web-based online licensing system need not be signed. Physical State Waterfowl Stamps obtained from the Division of Fish and Wildlife and Federal Ducks Stamps must be signed by the hunter across the face of the stamp and carried at all times when hunting. All migratory bird hunters, regardless of age must possess a current Harvest Information Program (H.I.P) Permit. 				

* **Note:** This card is meant to provide a convenient summary of the dates and regulations but is not comprehensive. See the complete regulations for more information.