Rhode Island
Department of Environmental Management

i

&Y DIVISION OF FISH AND WILDLIFE  enx 22550

277 Great Neck Rd
West Kingston, Rl 02892

Rhode Island Firearms Law

The following is a summary of the more important provisions of the Rhode Island law on handguns.
If you have any doubt or question about the meaning, read the law and consult with competent legal
counsel.

e You cannot purchase a handgun or handgun ammunition unless you are 21 years of age or
older.

e There is a seven-day waiting period before purchasing a handgun.

e Committing a crime of violence while armed can lead to a prison sentence of five (5) years in
addition to the sentence of the crime.

e Convicted criminals cannot legally own a firearm; nor can mental incompetents, drug addicts or
habitual drunkards.

e You do not need a license to transport a handgun to and from your home or place of business to
a bonafide target range if it is broken down; unload and carry as open as circumstances will
permit. Handguns can also be transported to and from a bonafide target range secured in a
separate container suitable for the purpose. You can obtain a license to carry a concealed
weapon by applying to the State Attorney General or local police chief by demonstrating you
have need. You must be at least 21 years of age and qualify on a target range.

Note: A handgun transported openly is still considered to be concealed if it is not being
transported from home or a place of business to and from a bonafide target range.

e You cannot alter the serial number of any firearm.
¢ All gunshot wounds must be reported to the police immediately.
State laws can be found under Rhode Island General Laws (RIGL) TITLE 11, Chapter 11-47.

Please visit the following website for further information:
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE11/11-47/INDEX.HTM



