RIDEM MEDICAL WASTE GENERATOR REGISTRATION FACT SHEET

Starting September 1, 2013 thru December 1, 2013, Medical Waste Generators ("MWG") will be required to go online at www.ri.gov/DEM/medical_waste_generator to register for their NEW MWG Numbers. As you may know, Rhode Island General Law 23-19.12-10 requires that every person who generates medical waste must register with the Department of Environmental Management ("the Department"). In 1992, the Department had delegated the Registration of MWGs to the Department of Health, however, the Department of Health ceased to accept Registrations in 2003. Therefore, in 2010, the Department amended the Rules and Regulations Governing the Generation, Transportation, Storage, Treatment, Management and Disposal of Regulated Medical Waste to require MWGs to Register with the Department and establish MWG Numbers. These amendments established a deadline of January 1, 2012 for Registration although the Department was not able to institute an online program in that time frame.

Presently, it is our intention to begin registering MWGs on September 1, 2013 for the 2014 calendar year, although some may register earlier if they wish, The deadline for MWG Registration will be December 1, 2013. As of January 1, 2014, medical waste transporters will be responsible for tracking Rhode Island MWG Numbers when they pick up medical waste from generators and for including MWG Numbers in their semi-annual medical waste transporter reports.

In order to create a user friendly and efficient process for MWGs to register and receive their MWG Numbers, we have automated the Registration at www.ri.gov/DEM/medical_waste_generator. The last three words of this address are connected by an underscore such that they read "medical_waste_generator". So as not to confuse Registrations formerly issued by the Department of Health, NEW Registrations will be assigned NEW Numbers using the format MWG-1. This web site has been set up so that anyone, including transporters, may look up a MWG Number once it has been assigned.

The fee structure for MWG is based on the amount of medical waste that was generated in the previous calendar year. Medical waste transporters should be able to tell generators approximately how much waste was generated the previous year. The fees are as follows:

| Amount of Medical Waste Generated | Fee Amount |
|--|------------|
| Less than 25 lbs | \$30.00 |
| 25 lbs to 100 lbs | \$40.00 |
| 101 lbs to 500 lbs | \$60.00 |
| 501 lbs to 2000 lbs | \$160.00 |
| Greater than 2000 lbs | \$200.00 |

If you have any questions, please contact one of us at 401 222-2797; Alyson Brunelli at ext. 7134 or Mark Dennen at ext. 7112, with emails alyson.brunelli@dem.ri.gov and mark.dennen.@dem.ri.gov respectively.