
RHODE ISLAND 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 
 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908-5767 Rhode Island Relay 711 

Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 3rd Floor, Room 360 (401) 222-6647  
2025 New License Opportunities, Resident Marine License Application  

 
CID #:_____________________ Office Use only  
Applicant Mailing Address  Residence Address (Cannot be a PO Box) 
Name:____________________________   
Street:____________________________  Street:_____________________________ 
City:________________RI 02_____  City:________________RI 02__________ 
DOB:_________________________   
Height:_______________ Weight:________  E Mail Address:______________________ 
Hair Color:____________ Eye Color:______    
RI Driver’s License #/Expiration Date: 
_____________________________ 

 Occupation: __________________________        

Has your commercial fishing license and/or permit been revoked or suspended in any state or jurisdiction?  
        Yes        No   
Are you an active member of the military?     Yes       No   If yes, please submit copy of Military ID 
Are you an honorably discharged veteran?   Yes       No    If yes, please submit copy of DD214 
Do you hold a valid certificate from an accredited commercial apprenticeship approved by the Dept?  Yes  No   

 
*** (APPLICATION MUST BE RECEIVED NO LATER THAN 02/28/2025) *** 

 
                               2025 Available Licenses/Endorsements 

Reporting Method 
Required  Check Below Standard Fishing License-  $  

 Logbook    $25.00               Endorsements   
 VTR           $0.00  Check one or both 

below  Description  Fee 

 Electronic  $0.00    Unlimited Shellfish (9)  $  
        Unlimited Finfish   (6)  $   
     Buoy Colors: 

 
   
  

A total of nine (9) new Unlimited Shellfish (resident only) & six (6) Unlimited Finfish Endorsements on the Standard Fishing 
License will be issued in 2025. Application period runs 01/01/2025 through 02/28/2025.  All determinations on the available 
endorsements will be made after the application deadline date of 02/28/2025. Please use this license application only for the 
new license opportunity issuance. The license/endorsement fees will be charged only if you are a successful applicant. Please 
DO NOT submit a check with this license application. The fee (if awarded license) for the Standard Fishing License with one 
Unlimited Endorsement is $300.00, the fee for the Standard Fishing License with two Unlimited Endorsements is $375.00. You 
must submit a cover letter along with justification with this application as to your eligibility for the endorsement(s) per criteria set 
forth in the Commercial & Recreational Saltwater Fishing Licensing Regulations. Prior paperwork submissions do not qualify.  
Please read all guidance document materials prior to submission of this application along with all supporting 
documentation.   
Notes: You must complete requirements of Taxation Certification & submit along with this application for marine   
            license.  All vessels engaged in the RI commercial fisheries must be declared. 

RIGL §20-1-3(10) “Resident” means an individual who has had his or her actual place of residence and has lived in 
the state of Rhode Island for a continuous period of not less than six (6) months.  
Under penalty of perjury, I declare I am a Rhode Island resident and the information contained herein is true and 
accurate. 
 
Signature: ____________________________________________     Date: _________________ 
Notary Public: __________________________________ ______     Comm. Exp. ___________ 
Applicant’s Telephone #:   ___________________________ 
 
Note: Licensed fishers are obligated to comply with possession limits for finfish as provided in the Marine Fisheries 
listserve, dedicated phone line at (401) 423-1920, or webpage at www.dem.ri.gov/programs/fish-wildlife/marine-
fisheries/mfsizes.php  .  Licensed shellfishers are obligated to comply with conditional closure areas as provided on 
DEM’s dedicated phone line at (401) 222-2900. All Standard Fishing License holders with the Unlimited Shellfish 
endorsement  must complete the 30-minute online shellfish tutorial located 
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/ prior to the issuance of the license. 

http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/fish-wildlife/marine-fisheries/mfsizes.php
http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/fish-wildlife/marine-fisheries/mfsizes.php
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/


 
  
 



 
 
 
RHODE ISLAND 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 
 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD (401) 222-4462 
Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 3rd Floor, Room 360 (401) 222-6647 
 
 

 
Guidance for Applicants Seeking New Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited Finfish 

Endorsement 
 

2025 
 
As described in the accompanying document entitled New Standard Fishing License/Endorsement 
Opportunities Available for 2025, six (6) new Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited Finfish 
endorsement will be issued in 2025.  As further described in the accompanying document, priority 
will be given to certain applicants for these endorsements.  This document provides guidance for 
applicants seeking the new Standard Fishing License and endorsement, including how to determine if 
you may qualify for priority status and what you need to do to establish such status and properly 
submit an application by February 28, 2025.  Residents and nonresidents aged eighteen and older who 
do not qualify for priority status but still wish to obtain the new endorsement are still encouraged to 
apply (see sections VI and VII below), since there is a chance that non-priority resident and non-
resident applicants will be given consideration, pending the outcome of the prioritization process. 
 
Any questions regarding the application process should be directed to DEM’s Office of Boat 
Registration & Licensing at 401-222-6647. All applications & supporting documentation must be 
mailed, or hand delivered by February 28, 2025 to the DEM, Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 
235 Promenade St., Room 360 Providence, RI 02908-5767. 
  
 
 
 
I. Priority Status under Category 1A 
 
Q: Are you a RI resident? 
 
 If no, go to section VII below. 
 If yes, proceed to next question. 
  
Q: Have you held a Standard Fishing License (RSTND) with limited finfish endorsement over the 
past two years – i.e., in 2023 and 2024? 
 
 If no, go to section II below. 
 If yes, proceed to the next question. 
  
Q: Have you been actively fishing your Resident Standard Fishing license (RSTND) in the limited 
finfish sector – i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records that you have sold authorized 
limited finfish to RI licensed dealers on at least 40 days during 2023 and 2024?  [Note: the 40 days of 



 
 
activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in 
each of the two calendar years.] 
 
 If no, go to section II below. 
 

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration 
for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance 
with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be considered, you 
must submit an application by February 28, 2025, indicating that you wish to obtain a new 
Standard Fishing license with Unlimited Finfish endorsement.  Your application must include 
a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active holder of a 
RSTND with a limited finfish endorsement.  Along with your application, you must submit 
the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for priority status.  Applicants will be 
ranked based on the length of time they have been actively fishing on a continuous basis, so it 
is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have been actively fishing your 
CFL, PEL or RSTND.  All transaction records will be subject to verification by the 
Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the Department via the SAFIS 
reporting system.  DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any 
application that is not accompanied by a sufficient number of valid transaction records. 

 
 
II. Priority Status under Category 1B 
 
Q: Have you been actively fishing a Resident Standard Fishing License (RSTND) in another 
Unlimited fishery sector other than finfish over the past two years – i.e., in 2023 and 2024? 
 
 If no, go to section III below. 
  
Q: Have you been actively fishing your Resident Standard Fishing License (RSTND) in another 
Unlimited fishery sector – i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records (and/or verified 
dockside sales of lobsters or crabs) that you have sold authorized seafood to RI dealers on at least 40 
days during 2023 and 2024?  [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, 
meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years.] 

 
If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration 
for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance 
with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be considered, you 
must submit an application by February 28, 2025, indicating that you wish to obtain a 
Standard Fishing License with an Unlimited Finfish endorsement. Your application must 
include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active RSTND 
holder, based on your activity over the past two years in any fishery.  Along with your 
application, you must submit the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for priority 
status.  Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively fishing 
on a continuous basis, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have 
been actively fishing your RSTND.  All transaction records will be subject to verification by 
the Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the Department via the 
SAFIS reporting system (or, with regard to dockside sales of lobsters or crabs, per section 
2.7.5 D 1 (2) of the licensing regulations).  DEM will disqualify from consideration under 
this priority category any application that is not accompanied by a sufficient number of 
valid transaction records. 

 



 
 
III.   Third Priority Status under Category 1C  
 
Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents, have you served as a crew member aboard one or 
more commercial fishing vessels engaged in the finfish fishery? 

 
 If no, go to section IV below. 
 If yes, proceed to the next question. 

 
  
Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents, have you been actively participating as a crew 
member – i.e., can you demonstrate via one or more affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed 
Captains, that you have fished, resulting in RI landings, with that Captain, or those Captains, in the 
finfish fishery at least 40 days during 2023 and 2024? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have 
spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two 
calendar years; and all of the activity must have occurred subsequent to your 16th birthday for 
residents. Please be advised according to the Commercial and Recreational Saltwater Fishing 
Licensing Regulations, Part 1, Section 1.7 – “Crew”  
is defined as an individual, aged (16) or older, employed for purposes of assisting in the operation of 
a commercial fishing vessel and its gear by another person licensed to fish commercially pursuant to 
these regulations. Applicants must submit a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year 
worked to validate paid status. Failure to submit any of the required above documents will result in 
the applicant being excluded from this priority category.  
 
 
 
  If no, go to section IV below. 
              

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration 
for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance 
with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be considered, you 
must submit an application by February 28, 2025, indicating that you wish to obtain a 
Standard Fishing License with an Unlimited Finfish endorsement.  Your application must 
include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as a resident active 
crew member, based on your activity in the finfish fishery.  Along with your application, you 
must submit the affidavit(s) necessary to qualify for priority status along with a W2, 1099, or 
copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked.  Applicants will be ranked based on the 
length of time, in years, they have been actively participating in the finfish fishery as crew 
members aged 16 or older for residents, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years 
that you have been employed in the fishery as a crew member (aged 16 or older, residents,).  
All applicants must use the blank Department Affidavit forms available from DEM (and 
posted on the website along with this document).  All Affidavits must be signed by licensed 
Captains and notarized.  Licensed Captains must have held a RI CFL, PEL, RSTND, 
NRSTND or MPURP license during the relevant period.  DEM will disqualify from 
consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by one 
or more valid Affidavits. 
 

 
 
IV.  Priority Status under Category 2A 
 



 
 
Q: Have you held a RSTND with an Unlimited/Limited Shellfish or Unlimited/Limited crustacean 
endorsement over the past two years – i.e., in 2023 and 2024? 
 
 If no, go to section V below. 
  If yes, proceed to next question. 
 
 
Q: Have you been actively fishing your RSTND– i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction 
records (and/or verified dockside sales of crabs) that you have sold authorized seafood to RI licensed 
dealers on at least 40 days during 2023 and 2024? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned 
both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar 
years.] 
 
  If no, go to section V below. 
 

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given secondary 
consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in 
accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be 
considered, you must submit an application by February 28, 2025 indicating that you wish to 
obtain a new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement.  Your 
application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as 
an active RSTND holder.  Along with your application, you must submit the dated 
transaction records necessary to qualify for priority status.  Applicants will be ranked based 
on the length of time they have been actively fishing on a continuous basis, so it is to your 
advantage to document all of the years that you have been actively fishing your RSTND.  All 
transaction records will be subject to verification by the Department in accordance with 
dealer reports submitted to the Department via the SAFIS reporting system (or, with regard 
to dockside sales of lobsters or crabs, per section 2.7.5 D 1 (2) of the licensing regulations).  
DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is 
not accompanied by a sufficient number of valid transaction records. 

 
  
V. Priority Status under Category 2B 
 
Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents, have you served as a crew member aboard a 
commercial fishing vessel engaged in the shellfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries? 

 
If no, go to section VI below. 

  If yes, proceed to the next question. 
 
Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday, have you been actively participating as a crew member – i.e., can 
you demonstrate via one or more affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed Captains, that you have 
fished, resulting in RI landings with that Captain, or those Captains, at least 40 days during 2023 and 
2024 in the shellfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries?  [Note: the 40 days of activity must have 
spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two 
calendar years; and all of the activity must have occurred subsequent to your 16th birthday for 
residents.] Please be advised according to the Commercial and Recreational Saltwater Fishing 
Licensing Regulations, Part1 Section 1.7 – “Crew” is defined as an individual, aged (16) or older, 
employed for purposes of assisting in the operation of a commercial fishing vessel and its gear by 
another person licensed to fish commercially pursuant to these regulations. Applicants must submit a  



 
 
W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked to validate paid status. Failure to 
submit any of the required above documents will result in the applicant being excluded from this 
priority category.  
 
             If no, go to section VI below. 
          

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given secondary 
consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in 
accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be 
considered, you must submit an application by February 28, 2025 indicating that you wish to 
obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement.  Your application 
must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active 
Crewmember, based on your activity in the shellfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries.  
Along with your application, you must submit the affidavit(s) necessary to qualify for priority 
status along with a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked.  
Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively participating as 
crew members (aged 16 or older, residents), so it is to your advantage to document all of the 
years that you have been employed as a crew member (aged 16 or older residents).  All 
applicants must use the blank Department Affidavit forms available from DEM (and posted 
on the website along with this document).  All Affidavits must be signed by licensed 
Captains and notarized.  Licensed Captains must have held a RI CFL, PEL, RSTND, 
NRSTND or MPURP license during the relevant period.  DEM will disqualify from 
consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by one 
or more valid Affidavits. 

 
VI. Third Priority Status under Category 3 
 
Q: Are you a person that falls under the categories below? 
 

A. A resident active member of the military (must provide copy of current Military ID #) 
B. A resident military Veteran who has been honorably discharged (must provide form DD-

214 or other approved document from RI Department of Veterans Affairs.)  
C. A resident person that holds a valid certificate from an accredited commercial fishing 

apprenticeship program approved by the Department (Must provide copy of certificate of 
completion of program.) -   

 
If no, go to section VII below. 
 
             If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given tertiary 
consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in 
accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be considered, 
you must submit an application by February 28, 2025 indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard 
Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement.  Your application must include a brief cover 
letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active military, veteran, or accredited 
apprentice, based on meeting the appropriate qualification above. Along with your application, you 
must submit either a copy of your current active military ID, or a copy of form DD-214 or other 
approved document from the RI Department of Veterans Affairs, or a copy of a certificate of 
completion from a Department approved commercial fishing apprenticeship program  to qualify for 
priority status.     
 



 
 
VII.  Priority Status under Category 4 
 
Q: Are you a RI resident aged eighteen (18) or older? 
 
  If no, go to section VIII below. 
   

If yes, as a RI resident aged 18 or older, you will be given consideration for the new Standard 
Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection 
process delineated in the accompanying document.  Pursuant to that process, if there are any 
endorsements remaining after the five priority categories are exhausted, they will be issued, 
by lottery, if necessary, to resident applicants aged 18 or older who do not qualify for priority 
status.  To be considered, you must submit an application by February 28, 2025, indicating 
that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement. 

 
VIII.  Priority Status under Category 5 
 
Q: Are you a non-resident of RI aged eighteen (18) or older? 
 

If yes, as a non-resident of RI aged 18 or older, you will be given consideration for the new 
Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish endorsement, in accordance with the 
selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  Pursuant to that process, if there 
are any endorsements remaining after the above priority categories are exhausted, they will 
be issued, by lottery, if necessary, to non-resident applicants aged 18 or older who do not 
qualify for priority status.  To be considered, you must submit an application by February 28, 
2025, indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Finfish 
endorsement. 

 
 
 



 

 

Rhode Island  
Department of Environmental Management 
Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 3rd Floor, Room 360    
235 Promenade Street Providence, RI 02908-5767    
401-222-6647  www.dem.ri.gov   Rhode Island Relay 711  

 

RI Shellfish Harvester Education & Certification Program 
January 2025 

 

DEM launched an education and certification program in 2018 that is mandatory for everyone who 
commercially harvests and lands shellfish in RI. The goal of the program is to ensure that shellfish 
harvesters deliver a safe product to shellfish dealers and, in turn, to shellfish consumers. This course 
must be completed prior to the issuance of a new shellfish license/endorsement. 

In accordance with US FDA requirements, and new regulations adopted by DEM in 2018, holders of all 
applicable commercial licenses and landing permits must obtain certification via the new program. 
Applicants must submit Certificate of Completion prior to license issuance (new applicants only).  

The certification requirement applies to: 

• All holders of commercial shellfish licenses -- i.e., Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited 
Shellfish endorsement; Over 65 Shellfish Licenses, and Student Shellfish Licenses; 

• All holders of Multipurpose Licenses who harvest shellfish; and 
• All holders of Landing Permits who land shellfish. 

The certification requirement applies to both License/Permit renewals and new Licenses/Permits, 
beginning in 2018.  Certification is valid for 5 years, after which re-certification will be required. 

To obtain certification: 

Complete a 30-minute online tutorial, which is available here: 
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/ 

  

 

http://www.dem.ri.gov/
https://www.ri.gov/dem/training/shellfish/


2025 Department Affidavit 
In Support of a 

Standard Fishing License to the RI Department of Environmental Management 
 

To establish priority status as an active, paid resident crew member, an applicant for a Standard Fishing 
License with Unlimited Shellfish and/or Unlimited Finfish must be able to demonstrate via one or more 
Affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed Captains that he or she fished with that Captain, or those 
Captains, at least 40 days during 2023 and 2024. [Note: the 40 days of activity must be documented by 
dated transaction records that demonstrate that the Captain (s) have sold authorized seafood to RI Licensed 
Dealers on at least 40 days and that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years. 
Also, all of the activity must have occurred subsequent to the applicant’s 16th birthday.  Also: Captains must 
have held a valid RSTND, NRSTND or MPURP license during the relevant fishing period as well as having 
the vessel commercially declared. Additionally, crew members will be required to submit proof of being 
paid by the Captain (s) by submitting a W-2 form, 1099 form and/or paycheck stub (s) from a financial 
institution for each year worked along with the New License Opportunity Application by February 28, 
2025.  
I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I am a RI licensed commercial fisherman, that I serve as 
the Captain of the commercial fishing vessel(s) identified below, and that 
______________________________________________ has served as a paid crew member on my boat(s) 
during 2023 and/or 2024 for the period indicated below. Please make note of additional years worked 
and days fished for each year (if applicable) on the reverse side of this Affidavit. Applicants must submit 
a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs to validate paid status for each year worked. Failure to 
submit any of the required above documents along with the New License Opportunity Application will 
result in the applicant being excluded from this priority category.  
I understand that fraud on the part of any existing license holder, including, but not limited to a Captain 
who signs an Affidavit in support of a claim of paid crew member status that turns out to be false or 
inaccurate, may result in the suspension or revocation of the license held by the existing license holder 
and will deem crew member ineligible for consideration of new license/endorsement. I have reviewed 
this Affidavit with my crew member and we agree all information contained herein is valid. 
 
Name of Captain: ________________________________________________________ 
 
Signature of Captain & contact telephone number: ______________________________ 
 
License Number: _________________________________________________________ 
 
Registration Number (s) of Declared Vessel (s): _________________________________  
 
Type of Fishery in which Applicant was/is Engaged as crew member: __________________ 
 
Level of activity {check either box; if second box is checked, provide estimate for # of days}: 
 
 Applicant fished with me at least 40 days during 2023 and 2024. 
 Applicant fished with me _____ days during 2023 and/or _____ days during 2024. 
 
This Affidavit must be notarized (Captain’s signature requires Notary Public):  
 
Sworn to before me a Notary Public this _____ day of _______________, 2025 
______________________________________________________________________________ 
Signature of Notary Public                                                                     My Commission Expires    



 
 
 
RHODE ISLAND 
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 
 
235 Promenade Street, Providence, RI 02908-5767 TDD (401) 222-4462 
Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 3rd Floor, Room 360 (401) 222-6647 
 
 

 
Guidance for Applicants Seeking New Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited Shellfish 

Endorsement 
 

2025 
 
As described in the accompanying document entitled New Standard Fishing License/Endorsement 
Opportunities Available for 2025, nine (9) new Resident Standard Fishing Licenses with Unlimited 
Shellfish endorsement will be issued in 2025.  As further described in the accompanying document, 
priority will be given to certain applicants for these endorsements.  This document provides guidance 
for applicants seeking the new Standard Fishing License and endorsement, including how to 
determine if you may qualify for priority status and what you need to do to establish such status and 
properly submit an application by February 28, 2025.  Residents aged eighteen or older, who do not 
qualify for priority status but still wish to obtain the new endorsement are still encouraged to apply 
(see sections VI and VII below), since there is a chance that non-priority resident applicants will be 
given consideration, pending the outcome of the prioritization process. 
 
Any questions regarding the application process should be directed to DEM’s Office of Boat 
Registration & Licensing at 401-222-6647. All applications & supporting documentation must be 
mailed or hand delivered by February 28, 2025 to the DEM, Office of Boat Registration & Licensing 
235 Promenade St., Room 360 Providence, RI 02908-5767. 
  
 
 
 
I. Priority Status under Category 1A 
 
Q: Are you a RI resident? 
 
 If no, go to section VII below. 
 If yes, proceed to next question. 
  
Q: Have you previously held a Resident Standard Fishing License RSTND with limited shellfish 
endorsement over the past two years – i.e., in 2023 and 2024? 
 
 If no, go to section II below. 
 If yes, proceed to the next question. 
  
Q: Have you been actively fishing your Resident Standard Fishing License (RSTND) in the limited 
shellfish sector – i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records that you have sold authorized 
shellfish to RI licensed dealers on at least 40 days during 2023 and 2024?  [Note: the 40 days of 



 
 
activity must have spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in 
each of the two calendar years.] 
 
 If no, go to section II below. 
 

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration 
for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance 
with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be considered, you 
must submit an application by February 28, 2025, indicating that you wish to obtain a new 
Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement.  Your application must 
include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active holder 
of a Resident Standard Fishing License with a Limited Shellfish endorsement.  Along with 
your application, you must submit the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for 
priority status.  Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively 
fishing on a continuous basis, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you 
have been actively fishing your CFL, PEL or RSTND.  All transaction records will be 
subject to verification by the Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the 
Department via the SAFIS reporting system.  DEM will disqualify from consideration 
under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by a sufficient number 
of valid transaction records. 

 
 
II. Priority Status under Category 1B  
 
Q: Have you been actively fishing a Resident Standard Fishing License (RSTND) in another 
Unlimited fishery sector other than shellfish over the past two years – i.e., in 2023 and 2024? 
 
 If no, go to section III below. 
  
Q: Have you been actively fishing your Resident Standard Fishing License (RSTND) in another 
Unlimited fishery sector – i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction records (and/or verified 
dockside sales of lobsters or crabs) that you have sold authorized seafood to RI dealers on at least 40 
days during 2023 and 2024?  [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, 
meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years.] 

 
If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration 
for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance 
with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be considered, you 
must submit an application by February 28, 2025, indicating that you wish to obtain a 
Standard Fishing License with an Unlimited Shellfish endorsement. Your application must 
include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active RSTND 
holder, based on your activity over the past two years in any fishery.  Along with your 
application, you must submit the dated transaction records necessary to qualify for priority 
status.  Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively fishing 
on a continuous basis, so it is to your advantage to document all of the years that you have 
been actively fishing your PEL or RSTND.  All transaction records will be subject to 
verification by the Department in accordance with dealer reports submitted to the 
Department via the SAFIS reporting system (or, with regard to dockside sales of lobsters or 
crabs, per section 2.7.5 D 1 (2) of the licensing regulations).  DEM will disqualify from 
consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by a 
sufficient number of valid transaction records. 



 
 

 
 
 
III.  Priority Status under Category 1C  
 
Q: Subsequent to your 16h birthday for residents, have you served as a crew member aboard one or 
more commercial fishing vessels engaged in the shellfish fishery? 

 
 If no, go to section IV below. 
 If yes, proceed to the next question. 

 
  
Q: Subsequent to your 16th Birthday, have you been actively participating as a crew member – i.e., can 
you demonstrate via one or more affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed Captains, that you have 
fished, resulting in RI landings, with that Captain, or those Captains, in the shellfish sector at least 40 
days during 2023 and 2024? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned both calendar years, 
meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar years; and all of the activity 
must have occurred subsequent to your 16th birthday for residents.] Please be advised according to the 
Commercial and Recreational Saltwater Fishing Licensing Regulations, Part 1, Section 1.7 – “Crew”  
is defined as an individual, aged (16) or older, employed for purposes of assisting in the operation of a 
commercial fishing vessel and its gear by another person licensed to fish commercially pursuant to 
these regulations. Applicants must submit a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year 
worked to validate paid status. Failure to submit any of the required above documents will result in the 
applicant being excluded from this priority category.  
 
  If no, go to section IV below. 
         
 

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given top consideration 
for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance 
with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be considered, you 
must submit an application by February 28, 2025, indicating that you wish to obtain a 
Standard Fishing License with an Unlimited Shellfish endorsement.  Your application must 
include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active crew 
member, based on your activity in the shellfish fishery.  Along with your application, you 
must submit the Department Affidavit (s) necessary to qualify for priority status along with a 
W2, 1099, or copies of checks or pay stubs for each year worked.  Applicants will be ranked 
based on the length of time, in years, they have been actively participating in the shellfish 
fishery as crew members aged 16 or older for residents so it is to your advantage to document 
all of the years that you have been employed in the fishery as a crew member (aged 16 or 
older).  All applicants must use the blank Department Affidavit forms available from DEM 
(and posted on the website along with this document).  All Affidavits must be signed by 
licensed Captains and notarized.  Licensed Captains must have held a RI CFL, PEL, 
RSTND, NRSTND or MPURP license during the relevant period.  DEM will disqualify 
from consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by 
one or more valid Affidavits. 

 
 



 
 
 
 
IV. Priority Status under Category 2A  
 
Q: Have you held a RSTND with a Unlimited/Limited Finfish, Unlimited/Limited Crustacean    
     endorsement over the past two years – i.e., in 2023 and 2024? 
 
 If no, go to section V below. 
  If yes, proceed to next question. 
 
 
Q: Have you been actively fishing your RSTND– i.e., can you demonstrate by dated transaction 
records (and/or verified dockside sales of crabs) that you have sold authorized seafood to RI licensed 
dealers on at least 40 days during 2023 and 2024? [Note: the 40 days of activity must have spanned 
both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar 
years.] 
 
  If no, go to section V below. 
 

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given secondary 
consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in 
accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be 
considered, you must submit an application by February 28, 2025 indicating that you wish to 
obtain a new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement.  Your 
application must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as 
an active RSTND holder.  Along with your application, you must submit the dated 
transaction records necessary to qualify for priority status.  Applicants will be ranked based 
on the length of time they have been actively fishing on a continuous basis, so it is to your 
advantage to document all of the years that you have been actively fishing your RSTND.  All 
transaction records will be subject to verification by the Department in accordance with 
dealer reports submitted to the Department via the SAFIS reporting system (or, with regard 
to dockside sales of lobsters or crabs, per section 2.7.5 D 1 (2) of the licensing regulations).  
DEM will disqualify from consideration under this priority category any application that is 
not accompanied by a sufficient number of valid transaction records. 

 
  
V. Priority Status under Category 2B 
 
Q: Are you a resident who subsequent to your 16th birthday have you served as a crew member 
aboard a commercial fishing vessel engaged in the finfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries? 

 
If no, go to section VI below. 

  If yes, proceed to the next question. 
 
Q: Subsequent to your 16th birthday have you been actively participating as a crew member – i.e., can 
you demonstrate via one or more affidavits signed by one or more RI licensed Captains, that you have 
fished, resulting in RI landings with that Captain, or those Captains, at least 40 days during 2023 and 
2024 in the finfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries?  [Note: the 40 days of activity must have 
spanned both calendar years, meaning that some activity must have occurred in each of the two calendar 
years; and all of the activity must have occurred subsequent to your 16th birthday.] Please be advised 
according to the Commercial and Recreational Saltwater Fishing Licensing Regulations, Part1 Section 



 
 
1.7 – “Crew” is defined as an individual, aged (16) or older, employed for purposes of assisting in the 
operation of a commercial fishing vessel and its gear by another person licensed to fish commercially 
pursuant to these regulations. Applicants must submit a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for 
each year worked to validate paid status. Failure to submit any of the required above documents will 
result in the applicant being excluded from this priority category.  
 
             If no, go to section VI below. 
              

If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given secondary 
consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in 
accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be 
considered, you must submit an application by February 28, 2025 indicating that you wish to 
obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement.  Your application 
must include a brief cover letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active 
crew member, based on your activity in the finfish and/or lobster (crustacean) fisheries.  
Along with your application, you must submit the Department Affidavit(s) necessary to 
qualify for priority status along with a W2, 1099 or copies of checks or pay stubs for each 
year worked.  Applicants will be ranked based on the length of time they have been actively 
participating as crew members (aged 16 or older), so it is to your advantage to document all 
of the years that you have been employed as a crew member (aged 16 or older residents).  All 
applicants must use the blank Department Affidavit forms available from DEM (and posted 
on the website along with this document).  All Affidavits must be signed by licensed 
Captain(s) and notarized.  Licensed Captain(s) must have held a RI CFL, PEL, RSTND, 
NRSTND or MPURP  license during the relevant period.  DEM will disqualify from 
consideration under this priority category any application that is not accompanied by one 
or more valid Affidavits. 

 
VI. Priority Status under Category 3 

 
 Q: Are you a resident person that falls under the categories below? 
 

A. A resident active member of the military (must provide current military ID #) 
B. A resident military Veteran who has been honorably discharged (must provide form DD-

214 or other approved document from RI Department of Veterans Affairs.)  
C. A resident person that holds a valid certificate from an accredited commercial fishing 

apprenticeship program approved by the Department (Must provide copy of certificate of 
completion of program.)   

 
If no, go to section VII below. 
 
                 If yes, you qualify for priority status under this category and will be given tertiary 
consideration for the new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in 
accordance with the selection process delineated in the accompanying document.  To be considered, 
you must submit an application by February 28, 2025 indicating that you wish to obtain a Standard 
Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement.  Your application must include a brief cover 
letter, indicating that you are seeking priority status as an active military, veteran, or accredited 
apprentice, based on meeting the appropriate qualification above. Along with your application, you 
must submit either a copy of your current active military ID, or a copy of form DD-214 or other 
approved document from the RI Department of Veterans Affairs, or a copy of a certificate of 
completion from a Department approved commercial fishing apprenticeship program to qualify for 
priority status.     



 
 
 
 
 
VII. Priority Status under Category 4 
 
Q: Are you a RI resident aged eighteen (18) or older? 
 
  If no, you do not qualify for a new Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish 
             endorsement. 
   

If yes, as a RI resident aged 18 or older, you will be given consideration for the new Standard 
Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement, in accordance with the selection 
process delineated in the accompanying document.  Pursuant to that process, if there are any 
endorsements remaining after the above priority categories are exhausted, they will be issued, 
by lottery if necessary, to resident applicants aged 18 or older who do not qualify for priority 
status.  To be considered, you must submit an application by February 28, 2025, indicating 
that you wish to obtain a Standard Fishing License with Unlimited Shellfish endorsement. 
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Taxation Certification Requirements  

  
     A new state law, enacted in 2004, requires everyone applying for any license from the state to 
first certify that they have filed all required state tax returns and paid all taxes due to the State, 
or entered into a written installment agreement with the Tax Administrator to pay delinquent 
state taxes. Accordingly, all applicants for new or renewed commercial fishing licenses must first 
complete one of the following two requirements:  
  

a) Sign a Taxation Certification, certifying compliance with all state tax obligations as 
noted above; the form must also include the applicant’s social security number or  
FEIN, or  

b) Furnish a Letter of Good Standing from the Tax Administrator. (401)574-8941 
  
    The Taxation Certification form is available from DEM; it may be completed at the counter 
while applying for a license or may be filled out online and submitted as part of the online 
renewal process. Letters of Good Standing must be obtained from the RI Division of Taxation, 
Collections Division, One Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 (401) 574-8829. DEM will not issue 
any new or renewed license until the applicant has submitted a properly completed 
Taxpayer Affidavit or a Letter of Good Standing.  
  
    Any questions regarding the new tax law should be directed to the RI Division of Taxation at 
401-574-8829 
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DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT 
OFFICE OF BOAT REGISTRATION & LICENSING 
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Taxpayer Certification  
  
You are required to furnish your Social Security # or FEIN pursuant to Chapter 76 of 
Title 5 and Chapter 3 of Title 31 of the RI General Laws, as amended.  Any person 
applying for any license or permit to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode 
Island or any person renewing a motor vehicle operator’s license or motor vehicle 
registration within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all 
taxes due the state or must have entered into a written installment agreement to pay 
delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax Administrator.  Failure to provide the 
Department with your Social Security # or FEIN will result in you having to obtain a  
Letter of Good Standing from the RI Division of Taxation, One Capitol Hill Providence, 
RI 02908 PRIOR to the issuance or renewal of your license.  If you have any questions 
regarding your tax status, please contact Taxation directly at 401-574-8829 

  
I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax 
returns and have either paid all taxes due the state or have entered into a written 
installment agreement with the Rhode Island Division of Taxation.  

  
Applicant’s Signature ____________________________ Date ________________  

Printed Name ___________________________________  
Social Security # or FEIN _________________________  
Marine License # ________________________________ 
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