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Nursery Licensing, Inspection & Certification 

 
https://dem.ri.gov/natural-resources-bureau/agriculture-and-forest-environment/agriculture/regulatory-

services/nursery 
 

 
What license is needed to offer plants for sale in Rhode Island? 
RI Nursery Law requires that, prior to offering Nursery Stock for sale in RI, either a Nursery Worker's License 
or a Nursery Stock Dealer's License must be obtained through the RI DEM Division of Agriculture and 
Forestry. Links to RI Nursery Law and related laws and regulations are at the end of this document. 
 
What plants are considered Nursery Stock? 
"Nursery stock" means all hardy, deciduous and evergreen trees, shrubs, vines and other plants having a 
persistent woody stem, whether wild or cultivated, and plant parts, for and capable of propagation. For 
questions about specific plants, contact Matt Green at the Division of Agriculture and Forestry. 
 
Should I apply for a Nursery Stock Dealer's License or a Nursery Worker's License? 
"Nursery worker" means the person who owns, leases, manages, or is in charge of a "Nursery", which is any 
grounds or premises where nursery stock is propagated, grown, or cultivated, or from which nursery stock is 
collected for sale purposes. A "Dealer" is any person, not a grower or an original producer of nursery stock, 
and who is independent of the control of any nursery worker or other dealer, who sells, offers to sell, solicits 
orders for or otherwise traffics in nursery stock from a supply at hand or which is obtained from a nursery or 
another dealer. A Dealer's activity may include holding nursery stock by heeling-in, for purposes other than 
propagation or growth. 
 
What are the fees and terms for a license to sell Nursery Stock in Rhode Island? 
Nursery Worker's License annual fee is $50; Nursery Stock Dealer's License annual fee is $50 per sales 
location. All licenses expire annually on March 31. In order to maintain a license, an application must be 
submitted with payment of fees annually prior to the March 31 date of expiration. 
 
I would like to apply for a Nursery Worker's License. Is an inspection of my nursery required? 
To obtain a Nursery Worker's License, your nursery stock will be inspected and certified. At least once each 
year during the growing season, all nurseries in the state of Rhode Island are inspected to ascertain whether 
they are infested with injurious plant pests. If the nursery and the nursery stock are apparently free from 
injurious plant pests, a nursery stock inspection certificate is issued. 
 
Where can I get an application form for a Nursery Stock Dealer's License or a Nursery Worker's 
License, or request inspection of plants for phytosanitary certification? 
Contact Matt Green at the Division of Agriculture and Forestry: 
 
Matt Green 
Division of Agriculture and Forestry 

Plant Industry/Plant Health Section  

Tel: (401) 537-4273 

Cell: (401) 640-4542 

Fax: (401) 222-6047 

Email: Matt.Green@dem.ri.gov 

Web: www.dem.ri.gov 
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Which plants are prohibited or restricted in Rhode Island? 
All plants in the genus Ribes including Currants, Gooseberries and their crosses are regulated and, depending 
on the species and requested planting location, are either restricted and allowed with a permit or prohibited. 
The White Pine Blister Rust Control Act was enacted in Rhode Island to protect native white pines from white 
pine blister rust, which is transmitted by plants of the genus Ribes. According to this Act, permits from DEM 
Division of Agriculture and Forestry are required for import into or transport within the state ($50 permit fee) 
and planting ($50 permit fee) of Ribes species plants in Rhode Island.  
This Act prohibits the possession, transport, planting, propagation or sale of black currants (Ribes nigrum) and 
the planting of flowering currants (Ribes aureum and Ribes odoratum) in the state and limits the planting of 
other Ribes species such as red and white currants and gooseberries to designated low-hazard areas with a 
permit. 
Permit application instructions: 
https://dem.ri.gov/sites/g/files/xkgbur861/files/programs/agriculture/documents/ribesspp.pdf 
 
Plants on the federal noxious weed list are prohibited: Movement into or within Rhode Island is prohibited for 
all Federal noxious weeds designated by USDA APHIS in 7CFR Part 360-Noxious Weed Regulations. 
https://www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/ourfocus/planthealth/plant-pest-and-disease-programs/pests-and-
diseases/sa_weeds/sa_noxious_weeds_program 
 
What are the requirements for movement of plant material to other states, territories or countries? 
Inspection and certification provides the basis for compliance with laws and regulations governing the 
movement of plants domestically and internationally. Plant shipments that do not meet certification 
requirements of the destination state or country may be refused entry or require quarantine or treatment at the 
destination. DEM Division of Agriculture and Forestry conducts Phytosanitary Inspection and Certification to 
assist Rhode Island exporters of plant material in complying with the phytosanitary requirements of other states 
and countries. 
Summaries of requirements for shipments of plant materials domestically to US states and territories can be 
found on the National Plant Board website: https://www.nationalplantboard.org/state-law--regulation-
summaries.html 
Summaries of requirements for shipments of plant materials internationally can be found at the USDA Animal 
and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS) Phytosanitary Export Database (PExD): 
https://www.aphis.usda.gov/aphis/ourfocus/planthealth/sa_export/export-faqs/phytosanitary-certification/export-
services-general-faqs 
 
How do state and federal quarantine restrictions affect the movement of plant materials? 
States, territories and the federal government all may place quarantines restricting the movement of regulated 
articles and plant material for the purpose of preventing the spread of certain harmful plant pests outside of a 
regulated area, or into or through protected areas.  
Examples of quarantines for which nurseries must enter into a state/federal compliance agreement for 
interstate shipment of plant materials to destinations requiring certification are: Gypsy Moth (field-grown 
nursery stock) and Black Stem Rust (Berberis, Mahoberberis, & Mahonia spp.). The U.S. Domestic Japanese 
Beetle Harmonization Plan facilitates movement of plant materials and soil outside of the Japanese Beetle 
quarantine area. Movement of plant material into the state also is regulated to prevent entry of plant pests 
including Asian Longhorned Beetle, Emerald Ash Borer, and Phytophthora ramorum (Sudden Oak Death).  
Information on these and other plant pests and related regulated articles can be found on the USDA APHIS 
Plant Pest Program website: http://www.aphis.usda.gov/plant_health/plant_pest_info/index.shtml 
Other states’ and territories’ quarantine summaries are listed on The National Plant Board website: 
https://www.nationalplantboard.org/state-law--regulation-summaries.html 
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Rhode Island General Laws 
 
RI Nursery Law, Chapter 2-18.1 
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/title2/2-18.1/index.htm 
 
Nurseries and Nursery Stock, Chapter 2-18 
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE2/2-18/INDEX.HTM 
 
Protection of Trees and Plants Generally, Chapter 2-15 
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE2/2-15/INDEX.HTM 
 
General Plant Pest Act, Chapter 2-16 
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE2/2-16/INDEX.HTM 
 
Diseases and Parasites, Chapter 2-17 
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE2/2-17/INDEX.HTM 
 
RI Seed Act, Chapter 2-6  
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE2/2-6/INDEX.HTM 
 
 
Rules and regulations 
 
Production and Distribution of Nursery Stock 
https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/250-40-10-1 
 
Suppression of White Pine Blister Rust 
https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/250-40-10-2 
 
Rules and Regulations under the Rhode Island State Seed Law  
https://rules.sos.ri.gov/regulations/part/250-40-20-8 
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