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R.I. Marine Fisheries Statutes and Regulations
PART VIII  -  OYSTER  REGULATIONS

8.1  Licenses

8.1.1  Resident - A Rhode Island resident is not required to obtain a license
provided he or she does not exceed the daily catch limit for residents, and
the oysters shall not be sold or offered for sale.  RIMFC REGULATION
[Penalty - Part 3.3 (RIGL 20-3-3); (RIGL 20-6-9)]  ref (RIGL 20-6-1)

8.1.2  Non-resident Shellfish License:

(a) Season - Every non-resident over the age of twelve (12) years may obtain a
non-resident, non-commercial annual shellfish license for a fee of two hundred
dollars ($200).

(b) 14-day - A non-resident may obtain one non-commercial limited license per
calendar year covering fourteen (14) days, including date of issue for eleven dollars
($11.00).

(c) Landing - A non-resident must obtain a shellfish landing license, for a fee of two
hundred ($200) to land shellfish (surf clams, blue mussels, ocean quahaugs, sea
scallops) harvested outside Rhode Island waters.

(d) Non-Resident Landowner - A non-resident landowner, as defined in § 20-1-
3(a)(3), who owns residential real estate in Rhode Island assessed for taxation at a
valuation of not less than thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) may, with proof of
residential property ownership in the form of a current tax bill from a town or city
hall showing that the non-resident landowner is current in his or her property tax
obligation, obtain an annual, non-commercial, non-resident shellfish license for a
fee of twenty-five dollars ($25.00).
(RIGL 20-2-22)

8.1.3  Commercial Shellfish Licenses:

(a) A resident older than nineteen (19) years but younger than sixty-five (65) years
shall pay two hundred dollars ($200) for a commercial license to take shellfish.

(b) A resident twenty-three (23) years or younger shall pay fifty dollars ($50.00) for
a student commercial license to take shellfish upon provision of proof of full-time
student status.
(c)Commercial shellfish licenses shall expire on December 31 of each year.

 [it is the policy of the Department of Environmental Management to allow a
resident sixty-five (65) years of age and older to be eligible for a commercial license
to take shellfish at no cost]
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(RIGL 20-2-20)

8.2 Minimum Size -- Three (3) inch minimum measured parallel to the long axis of
the oyster.   (RIMFC REGULATION) (Penalty - Part 3.3; (RIGL 20-3-3)]

8.3 Oysters -- Open Season -- Unless otherwise specified in regulations adopted by the
Marine Fisheries Council, the open season for taking oysters from the free and
common oyster fisheries in any of the waters of this Sta te shall be between the fifteenth
day of September and the fifteenth day of May.  Any person who shall take any oysters
or exposing any oysters for sale taken from the free and common fisheries in state
waters in violation of the provisions of this section shall, upon conviction, be fined no
less than fifty dollars ($50) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500) and costs for
each offense.
(RIGL 20-6-2) [Penalty - Part 8.03; (RIGL 20-6-02)]

8.4 Statewide Catch Limits (except Management Areas)

Maximum Daily Take
R.I. Resident ½ bu/day/per person
Commercial 3 bu/day/license holder
Non-resident 1 peck/day/license holder

(ref RIGL 20-6-1; 20-6-10)
[Penalty-Part 4.07;(RIGL 20-6-9)]
[Penalty-Part 4.04;(RIGL 20-6-10)]

8.5 Management Areas Catch Limits -- In Green Hill Pond, Potter Pond, Pt. Judith
Pond, Ninigret (Charlestown) Pond, Quonochontaug Pond, Winnapaug
(Brightman) Pond, Greenwich Bay, Sheffield Cove, Hundred Acre Cove, Mill Gut,
and Narrow River, the following reduced daily catch limits apply:

Maximum Daily Take
R.I. Resident 1 peck/day/per person
Commercial 3 bu/day/license holder
Non-resident ½  peck/day/license holder

(RIMFC REGULATION) [Penalty - Part 4.04 or 4.07; (RIGL 20-6-9 or 20-6-10)]


